Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Amnesia.exe has stopped working
Author Message
buu342 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Solved: 7 Months, 3 Days, 27 Minutes, 21 Seconds ago Bug Amnesia.exe has stopped working

so i used to be able to play amnesia, exept for the trumendus amount of lag when i opened my inventory or pressed j or opened a note. so i had my pc formatted, then ihad to reinstall Amnesia. now i have 2 big problems. when i launch the launcher i would get the blackbox, saying amnesia.exe caused an EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOATION in module amnesia.exe at 001B:00000000. So i deleted the blackbox.dll(this fixed before i formatted my drive) now i get the amnesia.exe has stopped working and must be closed.

FIXES I TRIED
deleting blackbox.dll
running as admin
updated my drivers and openGL
deleted my amnesia in documents

SPECS
windows xp 32 bit
SPACK3
opengl 2.3?
LAPTOP ACER ASPIRE 1692

The last time i tried the demo worked

HPL
Spoiler below!
Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating generate module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating loader handlers
Creating resource managers
Adding loaders to handlers
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Setting video mode: 1024 x 768 - 32 bpp
Init Glew...OK
Setting up OpenGL
Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
Renderer: MOBILITY RADEON X700 x86/SSE2
Version: 1.5.4777 WinXP Release
Max texture image units: 16
Max texture coord units: 8
Max user clip planes: 6
Two sided stencil: 1
Vertex Buffer Object: 1
Anisotropic filtering: 1
Max Anisotropic degree: 16
Multisampling: 1
Texture compression: 1
Texture compression S3TC: 1
Auto generate MipMaps: 1
Render to texture: 0
Max draw buffers: 4
Max color render targets: 21
Packed depth-stencil: 0
Texture float: 0
GLSL Version: 1.00
ShaderModel 2: 1
ShaderModel 3: 1
ShaderModel 4: 0
OGL ATIFragmentShader: 1



PLEASE HELP I REALLY WANT TO PLAY

if i cant fix it ill have to ask for a refund.

thanks
02-02-2012 06:41 PM
Find all posts by this user
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 3,561
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 172
Post: #2
Solved: 7 Months, 3 Days, 27 Minutes, 21 Seconds ago RE: Amnesia.exe has stopped working

Most likely your drivers for the video card is not the same as they were before you formatted the drive and that is the cause of the crash. This error is not refundable as it is not an error with Amnesia.
02-02-2012 07:07 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,475
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 234
Post: #3
Solved: 7 Months, 3 Days, 27 Minutes, 21 Seconds ago RE: Amnesia.exe has stopped working

Deleting blackbox.dll doesn't prevent the game from crashing. Blackbox shows up because the game crashed. Your graphics card is pretty weak, and the HPL log shows that your graphics card driver only supports OpenGL up to version 1.5.4777. Check the manufacturer's (Acer) website for graphics card drivers.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
02-02-2012 07:24 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)