Frictional Games Forum (read-only)

Full Version: Early Access Issue (HELP)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
(09-09-2013, 12:13 AM)plutomaniac Wrote: [ -> ]You haven't tested it now? I thought it worked now. Then my guess would be that Amnesia will crash as well. If you don't want to download the whole game the demo is also available at steam.

Edit: So, Amnesia works but the Pigs don't. It's strange, that's for sure. Maybe it is a bug afterall or a steam issue. Maybe it doesn't have to do with your operating system settings & running programs. If it's a steam issue then maybe Jens can provide you with a DRM-free copy and see if that works. If the other copy crashes as well my guess would be a game bug because I find it very unlikely that some program causes problems to the Pigs but not to Amnesia.

I just edited that post i did download it just now and ran right away with my computer running a million things lol
(09-09-2013, 12:18 AM)Draegast Wrote: [ -> ]I just edited that post i did download it just now and ran right away with my computer running a million things lol

Yes I saw it. My edit reflects that last info you gave. Smile

Let's wait for Jens to reply. Maybe he has something else to suggest or can offer a DRM-free copy. If that "retail" copy works, then it's a steam issue. Otherwise, it's probably a rare game bug since, as I already said, it is very unlikely that some program causes problems to the Pigs but not to Amnesia (that effectively rules out operating system settings/ running programs interfering causing the crash; it's still a possibility but a smaller one). At least in my opinion. Wink
(09-08-2013, 10:18 PM)Draegast Wrote: [ -> ]
(09-08-2013, 08:47 PM)Kein Wrote: [ -> ]Also, can you do this please: open Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Event View. Click Windows Logs -> "Application" and then click "System" as well. Now run the game and wait till crash. Once the game is crashed - quickly open back Even Viewer and load "Application" events, press F5 and make a screenshot. Same for "System". If there is a HDD/disk error it will be displayed there.

Oh, and - have you tried to run it as Administrator?

I did HDD check as well as making a new user didn't help

As for kein's suggestion I don't know If I'm doing this right but this thing popped up when I tried to open.

The Creative Audio Engine Licensing Service service entered the stopped state.

This was under system.

I need screenshots exactly under conditions I mentioned.

The only weird thing in the crash log is this:
Quote:Current Memory Load: 29
Total Physical Memory: -1 bytes
Available Physical Memory: -1 bytes
Total Virtual Memory: 2147352576 bytes
Available Virtual Memory: 1724149760 bytes

Uncool.
A DRM free copy will be available tomorrow after release at the earliest. Afraid I do not have any further ideas really, some 600 or more review copies have been sent out and have not heard of this issue from any others. We are dealing with computers and their software here... so yeah, consoles can be nice in situations like this with their single configuration.
(09-09-2013, 10:14 AM)jens Wrote: [ -> ]A DRM free copy will be available tomorrow after release at the earliest. Afraid I do not have any further ideas really, some 600 or more review copies have been sent out and have not heard of this issue from any others. We are dealing with computers and their software here... so yeah, consoles can be nice in situations like this with their single configuration.

Me neither, my friend pre-launched but there wasn't any problem.
(09-09-2013, 04:51 AM)Kein Wrote: [ -> ]The only weird thing in the crash log is this:
Quote:Current Memory Load: 29
Total Physical Memory: -1 bytes
Available Physical Memory: -1 bytes
Total Virtual Memory: 2147352576 bytes
Available Virtual Memory: 1724149760 bytes

Uncool.

It also says Windows 2000 so don't trust these numbers at all.

(09-09-2013, 10:14 AM)jens Wrote: [ -> ]A DRM free copy will be available tomorrow after release at the earliest. Afraid I do not have any further ideas really, some 600 or more review copies have been sent out and have not heard of this issue from any others. We are dealing with computers and their software here... so yeah, consoles can be nice in situations like this with their single configuration.

600, wow that's a big number. I didn't know it's such a number. If none of them had issues then yes probably it's something to do with this specific computer/ operating system. Some program or service that interferes only with the pigs and not with Amnesia. But as you said, because of the "infinite" desktop configurations, it's very hard to find what causes this.
Quote:It also says Windows 2000 so don't trust these numbers at all.
But that is the point it detects thing incorrectly and it something relies in this data there could be issue.
(09-09-2013, 03:42 PM)Kein Wrote: [ -> ]But that is the point it detects thing incorrectly and it something relies in this data there could be issue.

Blackbox.dll is not the problem. It's a very old library to detect the system state during a crash. It's just outdated, that's why these numbers are not correct.

http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/2679...h-BlackBox
Hey Draegast, can you try this .exe file:

http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-22842.html

Basically other people have the same issue and it seems that the crash is caused by gamepads and controllers. If you have any, unplug them from the computer, restart without them and try the game again with the new test .exe file.
With the test exe you don't have to unplug the controllers, the test exe fixes the problem so you can have all devices connected as intended.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10