Key to Unlock Chest - Printable Version +- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum) +-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html) +--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html) +---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html) +---- Thread: Key to Unlock Chest (/thread-9297.html) Pages:
1
2
|
Key to Unlock Chest - Obliviator27 - 07-22-2011 Alright, so thanks to you wonderful people on this forum, I've been able to start my own custom story with very little knowledge to begin with. Anyhow, I can't seem to find a way to allow a key to unlock a chest and was just wondering if anybody here knows how to do it. RE: Key to Unlock Chest - Ouroboros - 07-22-2011 You have to add a useitemcallback Code: / Code: void MyFunc(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity) RE: Key to Unlock Chest - Obliviator27 - 07-22-2011 Ah, of course. I didn't realize that the chest counted as a swing door. Thank you very much. RE: Key to Unlock Chest - Ouroboros - 07-22-2011 (07-22-2011, 07:30 AM)Obliviator27 Wrote: Ah, of course. I didn't realize that the chest counted as a swing door. Thank you very much. No problem, cabinets/closets also count as swing doors, should you want to unlock one of those in the future. RE: Key to Unlock Chest - Obliviator27 - 07-22-2011 Right, so I now have a new, fun problem. Odds are the problem is right in front of my eyes, but I'll let you guys see for yourselves. Basically, I have all the script for opening the chest. However, it refuses to be locked in the first place. void OnStart() { FadeIn(0); AddPlayerHealth(100); SetPlayerLampOil(30); SetSwingDoorLocked("MedChest", true, true); AddUseItemCallback("", "MedChestKey", "MedChest", "UnlockMedicineChest", true); } void UnlockMedicineChest(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity) { SetSwingDoorLocked("MedChest", false, true); RemoveItem("MedChestKey"); } All in-game file names correspond properly. RE: Key to Unlock Chest - ferryadams11 - 07-22-2011 I'm not sure if a chest counts as a swingdoor But I think it is cause else I don't remember me another unlock command xD Whatever Add me if u have questions. Msn: ferry_hooligan@live.nl Steam: ferryadams1 RE: Key to Unlock Chest - Rokotain - 07-22-2011 (07-22-2011, 09:01 AM)Obliviator27 Wrote: Right, so I now have a new, fun problem. Odds are the problem is right in front of my eyes, but I'll let you guys see for yourselves. Basically, I have all the script for opening the chest. However, it refuses to be locked in the first place. Hello I'm no expert, but I think it is because you have an extra(unecessary?) true on the SetSwingDoorLocked. I did [ b] true [ /b] around the true you could remove^^ Hope it helped, Rokotain RE: Key to Unlock Chest - Poppuhik42 - 07-22-2011 ----- RE: Key to Unlock Chest - WatzUpzPeepz - 07-22-2011 (07-22-2011, 10:40 AM)Rokotain Wrote:(07-22-2011, 09:01 AM)Obliviator27 Wrote: Right, so I now have a new, fun problem. Odds are the problem is right in front of my eyes, but I'll let you guys see for yourselves. Basically, I have all the script for opening the chest. However, it refuses to be locked in the first place. I dont see the need for setting the player health to 100 and I think the fade in thing is: FadeIn(1.0f); RE: Key to Unlock Chest - Ouroboros - 07-22-2011 (07-22-2011, 01:27 PM)Swistrobl Wrote: I think the game actually considers chests equal to levers. If they were swingdoors, wouldn't there at least be a "Locked" checkbox in the entity attributes menu? I checked and I was wrong actually, they are counted as levers. Try adding SetLeverStuckState("chestname", 1, true); in OnStart(), or set it to min stuck state in the editor. And then, add SetLeverStuckState("chestname", 0, true); instead of SetSwingDoorLocked and see if that works. I apologize for the confusion |