Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
My Questions - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: My Questions (/thread-21943.html)

Pages: 1 2 3


RE: My Questions - Your Computer - 07-03-2013

(07-02-2013, 03:22 AM)cruisy18 Wrote: I want to have a black screen, with a narration playing, as well as subtitles for this narration. Then I want the game to fade in after the narration sound has played. If I could have a blur as it fades in, that'd be sweet too.

SetEffectVoiceOverCallback, AddEffectVoice.

Example:
PHP Code:
void OnStart()
{
    
FadeOut(0);
    
SetEffectVoiceOverCallback("CallFadeIn");
    
AddEffectVoice("voice_file_1.ogg""""LangCategory""LangEntry_1"false"Player"01);
    
AddEffectVoice("voice_file_2.ogg""""LangCategory""LangEntry_2"false"Player"01);
    
AddEffectVoice("voice_file_3.ogg""""LangCategory""LangEntry_3"false"Player"01);
    
AddEffectVoice("voice_file_4.ogg""""LangCategory""LangEntry_4"false"Player"01);
}

void CallFadeIn()
{
    
FadeIn(5);


Blur is possible, but i won't provide an example here.

(07-03-2013, 02:35 AM)cruisy18 Wrote: Here's a more simple one. Can I disable hints in my custom story? I have created an area script where the players sanity goes down to 0 for a short time for effect, and the hint appears, totally ruining the vibe I'm trying to create.

Here's what i use for my global.hps
PHP Code:
void OnGameStart()
{
    
BlockDefaultHints();
}

void BlockDefaultHints()
{
    
BlockHint("DarknessDecrease");
    
BlockHint("EntityGrab");
    
BlockHint("EntityLever");
    
BlockHint("EntityPush");
    
BlockHint("EntitySlide");
    
BlockHint("EntitySwingDoor");
    
BlockHint("EntityWheel");
    
BlockHint("PickLantern");
    
BlockHint("PickOil");
    
BlockHint("PickTinderbox");
    
BlockHint("QuestAdded");
    
BlockHint("RecentlyReadText");
    
BlockHint("SanityHit");
    
BlockHint("SanityLow");




RE: My Questions - cruisy18 - 07-03-2013

(07-03-2013, 03:12 AM)Your Computer Wrote: SetEffectVoiceOverCallback, AddEffectVoice.

Here's what i use for my global.hps

YES! You're the man! Thanks! Big Grin


RE: My Questions - cruisy18 - 07-03-2013

Alrighty, I've run into another roadblock.

I want to make a wall of bricks, but with one broken brick near the bottom corner that the player pulls out, then a part of the wall collapses. I don't want every brick to be grabbable, but I want the bricks that are not grabbable to have gravity.

At the moment, in Level Editor, there are the entity/grabbable bricks, and then there's the static bricks. The static bricks do not have gravity, so they will not collapse if they are put on top of the broken grabbable piece, and they will not collapse if the player pulls out the broken brick. If the whole wall is grabbable, it ruins the purpose of having the player find that one broken piece.

Any way to achieve this?


RE: My Questions - cruisy18 - 07-04-2013

Another question.

What's a script to make an object move up? I found these but they don't seem to work. That, or I'm doing it wrong.

Code:
void AddPropForce(string& asName, float afX, float afY, float afZ, string& asCoordSystem);
void AddPropImpulse(string& asName, float afX, float afY, float afZ, string& asCoordSystem);
void AddBodyForce(string& asName, float afX, float afY, float afZ, string& asCoordSystem);
void AddBodyImpulse(string& asName, float afX, float afY, float afZ, string& asCoordSystem);



RE: My Questions - cruisy18 - 07-05-2013

No takers? Okay, here's surely a very simple one regarding Level Editor. I must have accidentally changed a setting and now when I press ALT + MMB and move the mouse up and down, instead of travelling across the map, it only goes up and down vertically. Bloody annoying. Any fix?

EDIT: It does not do this on my other .map files in Level Editor, only the one I'm currently working on.


RE: My Questions - Your Computer - 07-05-2013

Forces and impulses only work on non-static entities.

In the level editor there's a button labeled "LT": click it.


RE: My Questions - cruisy18 - 07-05-2013

(07-05-2013, 04:52 AM)Your Computer Wrote: Forces and impulses only work on non-static entities.

In the level editor there's a button labeled "LT": click it.

Once again, you're the man.

Is it possible to make the entity "castle_portcullis" move up when a lever is pulled? I have done the lever coding, and I tested it with
Code:
RotatePropToSpeed
and it worked. However, I obviously don't want the gate to rotate when the lever is pulled, but I want it to pull up.