Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
Anyone need help? - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-35.html)
+--- Thread: Anyone need help? (/thread-7825.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22


RE: Anyone need help? - RawkBandMan - 05-09-2011

I have another problem.

my extra_english.lang is not working at all.

here it is.

Spoiler below!
<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="Escape Hell (BETA)">
<Entry Name="Description"> You are taking a nice stroll down an abandond road when you hear something in the bushes. You get weak from fear and fall to the floor. The world goes dark and something wacks you on the head. You wake in a cell and the story begins.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
<CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
<Entry Name="ItemName_AwesomeKey">Awesome Key</Entry>
<Entry Name="ItemDesc_AwesomeKey">Key for a door that's just so important</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
<CATEGORY Name="Ending">
<Entry Name="StartCredits">
Escape Hell Beta[br]
Made By: XxRoCkBaNdMaNxX[br]
Thanks to: XxWestKillzXx for the help with scripts
Frictional Games for this awesome piece of work
Everyone in the community for playing.[br]
</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>





RE: Anyone need help? - masken94 - 05-09-2011

I know how to make a door close itself by trigger it. But how do I make it open itself?


RE: Anyone need help? - Kyle - 05-09-2011

@XxRoCkBaNdMaNxX,

When you click on your custom story, does it say for your description, "No description"?

I think I figured it out. It HAS to be named "CustomStoryMain" for the text to pop up in the description.

So in the second line, it should read:

<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
(05-09-2011, 06:41 PM)masken94 Wrote: I know how to make a door close itself by trigger it. But how do I make it open itself?

I'm not sure if there are multiple ways to trigger the door closed by itself, but I want to be sure. So can you please show what you are using, for it may be a boolean value (true or false) that needs to be changed.


RE: Anyone need help? - Ge15t - 05-09-2011

I was just wondering why when I test my custom story that I start with full oil for my lantern? I dont remember setting it this way at all, and theres nothing in my script that shows otherwise.


RE: Anyone need help? - Kyle - 05-09-2011

(05-09-2011, 10:01 PM)Ge15t Wrote: I was just wondering why when I test my custom story that I start with full oil for my lantern? I dont remember setting it this way at all, and theres nothing in my script that shows otherwise.

It's automatic; you need to set it manually.

Use this:

SetPlayerLampOil(float afOil); <-- Script line.

SetPlayerLampOil(0); <-- Sets player's lantern oil to 0.


RE: Anyone need help? - Ge15t - 05-10-2011

Hey kyle, I wanted to know how to do particle effects like wind swirling. I already have the sound effect, the candles blowing out and the door slamming shut but I need the particle effect to make it look good first. Any tips?


RE: Anyone need help? - Kyle - 05-10-2011

It is best to create a script area where you want the particle system to take place. You don't need to really strech the script area because it could then be confusing to find where it will take place at. Lets call the script area "ScriptArea_1". In the particles folder that branches off of the main Amnesia folder, it will have all the particle effects that can be used (unless you somehow manage to add one :p). Right now I am going to go into Amnesia's script files and find the particle system that is created when the door blasts open and the wind comes out that was used in the game.

PlaySoundAtEntity("gust_door", "general_wind_whirl.snt", "door_gust", 1.0 / 3, false);
CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("gust", "ps_dust_push", "AreaDust_4", false);

I got these 2 from the game when it used it. They put the area, "AreaDust_4", behind the door that swings open, just to let you know.

So in this case, this would be used:

CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("", "ps_dust_push", "ScriptArea_1", false);

Also use this to preload the particle system:

PreloadParticleSystem("ps_dust_push");


RE: Anyone need help? - Ge15t - 05-10-2011

The particle effect doesnt seem to play:
Code:
void CollideRoomTwo(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{

    SetSwingDoorClosed("mansion_1", true, true);
    PlaySoundAtEntity("", "general_wind_whirl.snt", "mansion_1", 0, false);
    PlaySoundAtEntity("", "react_scare.snt", "Player", 0, false);
    PlaySoundAtEntity("", "scare_slam_door.snt", "mansion_1", 0, false);
    CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("", "ps_dust_push", "WindArea_1", false);

and was i supposed to put the preload in the void OnStart part?


RE: Anyone need help? - Kyle - 05-10-2011

to be honest, I don't have that much experience with particle systems. The preload particle system should go in the void OnStart() so it can be loaded already for use in a function.


RE: Anyone need help? - cook - 05-10-2011

On using the AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2", "PathNodeArea_303", 0.0f, ""); command, it is not generating a path node file in my maps folder, is this normal?