Loading screens - Printable Version +- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum) +-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html) +--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html) +---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html) +---- Thread: Loading screens (/thread-10002.html) |
Loading screens - zeravia - 08-27-2011 I need help with my Loading screens. I have the code but i don't know where to put it or even how to get it running... i did all my own art, is that the problem it's in the right folder... i am so confused, please help me... >< RE: Loading screens - Juby - 08-27-2011 I'll do a breakdown for you to make it simple: SetupLoadScreen(string&asTextCat, string&asTextEntry, int alRandomNum, string&asImageFile); asTextCat - This is the category in the .lang file where to find the entry for the loadscreen text shown during a loadscreen. asTextEntry - This is the entry that will contain the text message displayed during the loadscreen int alRandomNum - This sets the amount of different text messages that can be displayed. Say if you set this as 3, for instance, you would need to add 3 different entries in your category for the loadscreen. asImageFile - This is the picture to display, put the file name of the image here. no extension. Must be a .jpg, I haven't experimented otherwise. Okay Example of the command. This can be put wherever your feel like it. The loadscreen will not change until you use this command again. Code: SetupLoadScreen("LoadingText", "Text_", 3, "TDG_Storage"); example of extra_english.lang Code: <CATEGORY Name="LoadingText"> It will chose one of the 3 entries to display during the loadscreen. Your loadscreen image must be in a folder called "images" in your custom_story. P.S if i made a mistake in the code, I'm sorry, it's late over here and a hurricane is incoming. RE: Loading screens - zeravia - 08-27-2011 (08-27-2011, 04:55 AM)Juby Wrote: I'll do a breakdown for you to make it simple: oh...wait...i think i just got it... RE: Loading screens - MegaScience - 08-27-2011 (08-27-2011, 04:55 AM)Juby Wrote: P.S if i made a mistake in the code, I'm sorry, it's late over here and a hurricane is incoming. We'll survive. I can take over for you until it's over, even, if everything goes well. :o RE: Loading screens - zeravia - 08-27-2011 ok...wait...i got it working once, but when i tried to load my Jpg to it now it's just black and there's no picture.... i have no idea why... DXXX RE: Loading screens - Elven - 08-27-2011 What format you have. Are you sure it is in right folder? RE: Loading screens - zeravia - 08-27-2011 (08-27-2011, 10:52 AM)Elven Wrote: What format you have. Are you sure it is in right folder? yep. i got the picture to work, now i just need to figure out how to get the text it's self to work... O_o; RE: Loading screens - Elven - 08-27-2011 in loading stuff is 2 things. First says category what you use and second the name of text. The best example is what Juby said: Code: <CATEGORY Name="LoadingText"> This said for example if you want to show More Text into your loading screen it would be: Code: SetupLoadScreen("LoadingText", "Text_02", 1, "TDG_Storage.jpg"); //now it shows everyone that More Text whatever you do! If you want to show one of the random texts, then use: Code: SetupLoadScreen("LoadingText", "Text_", 3, "TDG_Storage.jpg" //Leaving number after Text_ empty shows that number is generated randomly. And that 3 (instead of 1 in previous) shows that first 3 numbers in extra_english.lang, one of them will be used randomly! I hope it helped, if it didn't feel free to ask more info! RE: Loading screens - zeravia - 08-27-2011 (08-27-2011, 06:02 PM)Elven Wrote: in loading stuff is 2 things. First says category what you use and second the name of text. The best example is what Juby said: @x@ now my game crashes when i try to load the level the loading screen is on... where do i put the SetupLoadScreen script? in the level HPS? RE: Loading screens - Juby - 08-27-2011 (08-27-2011, 07:51 PM)zeravia Wrote: @x@ You can put it in the OnStart, OnEnter, OnLeave, and any other function in a .hps file. |