Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
message help - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: message help (/thread-12231.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4


RE: message help - Statyk - 01-02-2012

void EnteredBlockArea(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
if(HasItem("key_1") == true)
{
SetMessage("CustomStory", "Barrier", 6);
}
}


Try this. I added a "{" and deleted a space after "if"


RE: message help - eagledude4 - 01-02-2012

(01-02-2012, 02:49 AM)Statyk Wrote: void EnteredBlockArea(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
if(HasItem("key_1") == true)
{
SetMessage("CustomStory", "Barrier", 6);
}
}


Try this. I added a "{" and deleted a space after "if"
It doesn't really matter if there's a space after if, or if you put the { after the last bracket, or on the next line. Also, "if(HasItem("key_1") == true)" needs to be == false.

My extra_english.lang is located in "redist\custom_stories\Test", in-case that's a problem.

I just added FadeOut(0); below the SetMessage line, and the screen goes black, but doesn't show the message. Meaning that there's nothing wrong with how I call the function, but the SetMessage line itself.




RE: message help - eagledude4 - 01-03-2012

Help Please.



RE: message help - Your Computer - 01-03-2012

Maybe the dev environment is preventing it from showing, assuming you have key_1 in your inventory and BlockArea is a Script area.


RE: message help - eagledude4 - 01-03-2012

(01-03-2012, 02:48 AM)Your Computer Wrote: Maybe the dev environment is preventing it from showing, assuming you have key_1 in your inventory and BlockArea is a Script area.
Both of those conditions are true. I'm not sure if its related, but when I highlight the BlockArea in particular, I'm unable to rotate or resize the area, and both the General and Area tabs are non-existant.

[Image: pic2.png]





RE: message help - Statyk - 01-03-2012

You selected two objects at once, that's why you don't see any details.

Try changing it from "CustomStory" to something else somewhat unrelated to "custom"... Try the category "PersonalMessages"


RE: message help - eagledude4 - 01-03-2012

(01-03-2012, 03:39 AM)Statyk Wrote: You selected two objects at once, that's why you don't see any details.

Try changing it from "CustomStory" to something else somewhat unrelated to "custom"... Try the category "PersonalMessages"
I did not have two objects selected at once. I just double checked and the same thing. I'm using the multiselect with area checked.

I tried you're suggestion, and it still won't show.


RE: message help - Statyk - 01-03-2012

For one, I can see clearly in the picture given that you selected the script area AND the pathnodearea. As for the words showing up, can you post your entire .lang?


RE: message help - eagledude4 - 01-03-2012

(01-03-2012, 04:03 AM)Statyk Wrote: For one, I can see clearly in the picture given that you selected the script area AND the pathnodearea. As for the words showing up, can you post your entire .lang?

Oh, forgot about that path node Tongue, I forgot they counted as areas. You're right, my apologies.

Code:
<LANGUAGE>
    <CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
        <Entry Name="Description">You are awoken by the chimes of a grandfather clock.</Entry>
    </CATEGORY>

    <CATEGORY Name="PersonalMessages">
        <Entry Name="Barrier">I should investigate my father's room before heading downstairs.</Entry>
    </CATEGORY>

    <CATEGORY Name="Death">
        <Entry Name="StairScare">Wardrobes make good hiding places.</Entry>
    </CATEGORY>
    
    <CATEGORY Name="Journal">
        <Entry Name="First">See what's up.</Entry>
    </CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>



RE: message help - Statyk - 01-03-2012

Do the other message show up in-game? If they do, something is wrong in the script or name of category/entry... If not, something is wrong in the "extra_english.lang" But I don't see an error in it, which makes me wonder if the other messages show up.