Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
Problem with making notes - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: Problem with making notes (/thread-13314.html)



Problem with making notes - Symbi0sis - 02-13-2012

Hi, I'm trying to make a custom story for Amnesia: The Dark Descent, but I'm stuck. When i add notes, following this tutorial:
http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/tutorials/script/howtomakenotes, it doesn't show any text in the game, just an empty note.

Can anyone help with this problem?


RE: Problem with making notes - flamez3 - 02-13-2012

Show us your lang file please.


RE: Problem with making notes - Symbi0sis - 02-13-2012

Well, as i said i completely followed the tutorial but here it is:
(I also wrote "Test01" in the NoteText entry box)


<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">Just a description.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>

<CATEGORY Name="Journal">
<Entry Name="Note_Test01_Name">Test Note</Entry>
<Entry Name="Note_Test01_Text">This note is a test.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>

</LANGUAGE>



RE: Problem with making notes - onv - 02-13-2012

Put Test_01 as internal name , and in NoteText put Test and try


RE: Problem with making notes - flamez3 - 02-13-2012

What note are you using.


RE: Problem with making notes - Symbi0sis - 02-13-2012

Changing the names didn't work and I'm using a note_letter.

I really have no idea how to fix this but I would really appreciate if someone took a look at it.
Here's all the files i have made so far and the note is in the second room on the table:
http://www.mediafire.com/?nzkqzbzidzqcq9p



RE: Problem with making notes - Giovanni Rosa - 02-13-2012

(02-13-2012, 06:13 PM)Symbi0sis Wrote: Changing the names didn't work and I'm using a note_letter.

I really have no idea how to fix this but I would really appreciate if someone took a look at it.
Here's all the files i have made so far and the note is in the second room on the table:
http://www.mediafire.com/?nzkqzbzidzqcq9p


Try using letters only. I tried using numbers and it didn't work at all. Can you show me your .hps file too?

EDIT: <LANGUAGE>
<RESOURCES>
</RESOURCES>
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">your desc.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
<CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
<Entry Name="ItemName_keyname">Testing Key</Entry>
<Entry Name="ItemDesc_keyname">Opens door</Entry>
</CATEGORY>

<CATEGORY Name="Journal">
<Entry Name="Note_letter1_Name">Testing Note</Entry>
<Entry Name="Note_letter1_Text">Testing</Entry>
</CATEGORY>

</LANGUAGE>



Try putting this in your .lang file.






RE: Problem with making notes - Symbi0sis - 02-13-2012

I have tried without numbers to, but it doesn't work either.

The .HPS file is in the .zip file as well, just unzip it.

Your .lang file didn't work either...


RE: Problem with making notes - Giovanni Rosa - 02-13-2012

(02-13-2012, 07:23 PM)Symbi0sis Wrote: I have tried without numbers to, but it doesn't work either.

The .HPS file is in the .zip file as well, just unzip it.


////////////////////////////
// Run first time starting map
void OnStart()
{
AddUseItemCallback("", "note_test01", "door1", "UsedKeyOnDoor", true);
}

void UsedKeyOnDoor(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
SetSwingDoorLocked("door1", false, true);
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "unlock_door", "door1", 0, false);
RemoveItem("keyname");
}

////////////////////////////
// Run when entering map
void OnEnter()
{

}

////////////////////////////
// Run when leaving map
void OnLeave()
{

}

also, your .lang isn't supposed to be in your maps folder. Put it where your custom_story_settings file is at. Do you even have a key? You didn't mention the key name in any of the scripts??



RE: Problem with making notes - Symbi0sis - 02-13-2012

No... You wrote that about the key, but thank you! When i moved the .lang file it worked!