is there any reason why 'SetMessage' isn't working? - Printable Version +- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum) +-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html) +--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html) +---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html) +---- Thread: is there any reason why 'SetMessage' isn't working? (/thread-14209.html) Pages:
1
2
|
is there any reason why 'SetMessage' isn't working? - 7thProductions - 03-24-2012 I've tried (almost) everything to get 'SetMessage' to work but no matter what I do; everytime I lanuch my map said message does not show up and I don't know what to do... I recall someone saying that there doesn't have to be something with the HPS file for this to happen, but that there could be something with the LANG file, but I don't see anything wrong with either... script: //////////////////////////// // Run first time starting map void OnStart() { SetPlayerCrouching(true); SetPlayerActive(false); ShowPlayerCrossHairIcons(false); SetSanityDrainDisabled(true); SetPlayerHealth(10.0); AddPlayerBodyForce(0, 0, -10000, true); FadeOut(0.0f); FadeIn(5.0f); SetPlayerSanity(1); AddTimer("T1", 3, "Intro"); AddTimer("T2", 6, "Intro"); AddTimer("T3", 8, "Intro"); AddTimer("T4", 10, "Intro"); AddTimer("T5", 12, "Intro"); AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "violetedwardsspeak1_blood", "Collidevioletedwardsspeak1blood", false, 1); } void Intro(string &in asTimer) { string x = asTimer; if (x == "T1") { PlaySoundAtEntity("", "react_sigh.snt", "Player", 0, false); FadeOut(3); } else if (x == "T2") { FadeIn(3); PlaySoundAtEntity("", "react_breath.snt", "Player", 0, false); StartPlayerLookAt("ScriptArea_1", 2, 2, ""); } else if (x == "T3") { StopPlayerLookAt(); StartPlayerLookAt("ScriptArea_2", 2, 2, ""); } else if (x == "T4") { PlaySoundAtEntity("", "react_breath_slow.snt", "Player", 0, false); StopPlayerLookAt(); } else if (x == "T5") { SetPlayerCrouching(false); SetPlayerActive(true); ShowPlayerCrossHairIcons(true); SetPlayerMoveSpeedMul(0.3); SetPlayerJumpDisabled(true); SetPlayerCrouchDisabled(true); SetPlayerRunSpeedMul(0.0); AddTimer("startplayerlookat", 3, "Collidevioletedwardsspeak1blood"); AddTimer("setmessage", 3, "Collidevioletedwardsspeak1blood"); } } void Collidevioletedwardsspeak1blood(string &in asTimer) { string x = asTimer; if (x == "startplayerlookat") { SetPlayerActive(false); ShowPlayerCrossHairIcons(false); StartPlayerLookAt("blood_spatter01_1", 1, 10, ""); PlaySoundAtEntity("", "react_scare.ent", "Player", 0, false); } else if (x == "setmessage") { SetMessage("Messages", "blood", 0); } } //////////////////////////// // Run when entering map void OnEnter() { } //////////////////////////// // Run when leaving map void OnLeave() { } extra_english.lang: <LANGUAGE> <RESOURCES /> <CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain"> <Entry Name="Description">YOUR DESCRIPTION HERE</Entry> </CATEGORY> <CATEGORY Name="Inventory" /> <CATEGORY Name="Messages" /> <Entry Name="blood">Violet:[br]Is...is that my blood...?[br]What the fuck happened to me!?!</Entry> </CATEGORY> <CATEGORY Name="Descriptions" /> <CATEGORY Name="Levels" /> </LANGUAGE> RE: is there any reason why 'SetMessage' isn't working? - TheKataKombs - 03-24-2012 SetMessage("Messages", "blood", 0); u have to take away the 0 and put in seconds how long you want it to stay on the screen.. Like: SetMessage("Messages, "blood", 2.5); Hope this helps
RE: is there any reason why 'SetMessage' isn't working? - ClayPigeon - 03-24-2012 TeKataKombs - Actually, 0 will force a calculation of the number of the characters and according to it will set a matching amount of time to read the message. Thread opener: The problem's within your language file. Firstly, you did not end your Inventory category, make it like this: <CATEGORY Name="Inventory"> </CATEGORY> And then: <CATEGORY Name="Messages"> </CATEGORY> Your syntax was: <CATEGORY/>, which is false. RE: is there any reason why 'SetMessage' isn't working? - 7thProductions - 03-24-2012 (03-24-2012, 05:12 PM)TheKataKombs Wrote: SetMessage("Messages", "blood", 0);it didn't do anything... :[ RE: is there any reason why 'SetMessage' isn't working? - ClayPigeon - 03-24-2012 (03-24-2012, 05:19 PM)7thProductions Wrote:Please, try my solution.(03-24-2012, 05:12 PM)TheKataKombs Wrote: SetMessage("Messages", "blood", 0);it didn't do anything... :[ RE: is there any reason why 'SetMessage' isn't working? - Unearthlybrutal - 03-24-2012 The problem is what ClayPigeon said. You can use this in your .lang file: Spoiler below!
RE: is there any reason why 'SetMessage' isn't working? - 7thProductions - 03-24-2012 (03-24-2012, 05:18 PM)ClayPigeon Wrote: TeKataKombs - Actually, 0 will force a calculation of the number of the characters and according to it will set a matching amount of time to read the message. okay, I did what you told me to do, but the message still won't show up on the screen RE: is there any reason why 'SetMessage' isn't working? - ClayPigeon - 03-24-2012 (03-24-2012, 05:30 PM)7thProductions Wrote:(03-24-2012, 05:18 PM)ClayPigeon Wrote: TeKataKombs - Actually, 0 will force a calculation of the number of the characters and according to it will set a matching amount of time to read the message. Try using Unreathlybrutal's syntax, it seems correct. RE: is there any reason why 'SetMessage' isn't working? - Unearthlybrutal - 03-24-2012 ...just copy the code from my previous post... RE: is there any reason why 'SetMessage' isn't working? - 7thProductions - 03-24-2012 (03-24-2012, 05:33 PM)Unearthlybrutal Wrote: ...just copy the code from my previous post... still nothing... |