Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
Change map with area... - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: Change map with area... (/thread-20669.html)

Pages: 1 2


Change map with area... - Tiger - 03-09-2013

So, I want the player to walk into an area and it's supposed to change level. I'm pretty sure this is possible since the creator of 'Killings in Alstadt' did this. Amnesia doesn't crash and I don't get an error message, but I know I'm not doing anything wrong. This is the part of the script:

PHP Code:
void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ChangeLevel_1""LeaveMap_1"true1);
}

void LeaveMap_1(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)
{
PlaySoundAtEntity("""player_bodyfall.snt""Player"0.1ffalse);
FadeOut(2.0f);
ChangeMap("InsideCabin.map""PlayerStartArea_2""""");
}

void OnLeave()
{
SetupLoadScreen("LoadingText""load_1"1"game_loading_well.jpg");


edit for no bump: I had named the ScriptArea in the level editor and the script differently
Spoiler below!

[Image: picard-facepalm.jpg?1240934151]




RE: Change map with area... - i3670 - 03-09-2013

capital P in player.


RE: Change map with area... - 7heDubz - 03-09-2013

.snt", "player", 0


Yeah capital P right here


.snt", "Player", 0


RE: Change map with area... - Tiger - 03-09-2013

Still doesn't work. I also changed the 'player_bodyfall5.snt' to 'player_bodyfall.snt', but to no avail.


RE: Change map with area... - NaxEla - 03-09-2013

There two places where you need a capital P. One for AddEntityCollideCallback and one for PlaySoundAtEntity.


RE: Change map with area... - 7heDubz - 03-09-2013

ollideCallback("player", "Cha
TO
ollideCallback("Player", "Cha


RE: Change map with area... - Tiger - 03-09-2013

Like I said, it doesn't work...


RE: Change map with area... - Your Computer - 03-09-2013

Run the script again, then check the hpl.log for any insight.


RE: Change map with area... - Tiger - 03-10-2013

I have no idea what to do with the hpl.log ._.


RE: Change map with area... - No Author - 03-10-2013

(03-09-2013, 12:43 AM)Tigerwaw Wrote: So, I want the player to walk into an area and it's supposed to change level. I'm pretty sure this is possible since the creator of 'Killings in Alstadt' did this. Amnesia doesn't crash and I don't get an error message, but I know I'm not doing anything wrong. This is the part of the script:

PHP Code:
void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ChangeLevel_1""LeaveMap_1"true1);
}

void LeaveMap_1(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)
{
PlaySoundAtEntity("""player_bodyfall.snt""Player"0.1ffalse);
FadeOut(2.0f);
ChangeMap("InsideCabin.map""PlayerStartArea_2""""");
}

void OnLeave()
{
SetupLoadScreen("LoadingText""load_1"1"game_loading_well.jpg");


Shouldn't the :
PHP Code:
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ChangeLevel_1""LeaveMap_1"true1); 
change into :
PHP Code:
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ChangeLevel_1""LeaveMap_1"true0); 
?