Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
How to change Servant Grunt texture/material? - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: How to change Servant Grunt texture/material? (/thread-23361.html)

Pages: 1 2


How to change Servant Grunt texture/material? - GoreGrinder99 - 09-25-2013

How to I go about changing the texture and/or the material of the Servant Grunt? I have seen Statyk's tutorial on re-texturing a bottle but I couldn't find the dds connected to the Grunt.

I have also changed the material of the grunt multiple times in the Material Editor and when I load up the changed file in the Model Editor for my Grunt, it appears as it should but when placed into a map, it is the standard Grunt.

How do I go about changing both of these?


RE: How to change Servant Grunt texture/material? - Rapture - 09-25-2013

It's in it's folder. "Amnesia the Dark Descent > Entities > Enemy > Servant_Grunt > servant_grunt.dds"


RE: How to change Servant Grunt texture/material? - GoreGrinder99 - 09-25-2013

(09-25-2013, 02:08 AM)Rapture Wrote: It's in it's folder. "Amnesia the Dark Descent > Entities > Enemy > Servant_Grunt > servant_grunt.dds"

Yes, but that is just the texture, correct? How would I go about changing the mat file assigned to the Grunt?


RE: How to change Servant Grunt texture/material? - Rapture - 09-25-2013

I'm a little confused to why you would want to change the ".mat" file, but to do that you just open it up (Same directory as the Grunt, called "servant_grunt.mat") and change what is under the "Diffuse", "NMap" and "Specular" sections.
Code:
<Material>
    <Main DepthTest="True" PhysicsMaterial="Default" Type="SolidDiffuse" />
    <TextureUnits>
        <Diffuse AnimFrameTime="" AnimMode="" File="servant_grunt.dds" Mipmaps="true" Type="2D" Wrap="Repeat" />
        <NMap AnimFrameTime="" AnimMode="" File="servant_grunt_nrm.dds" Mipmaps="true" Type="2D" Wrap="Repeat" />
        <Specular AnimFrameTime="" AnimMode="" File="servant_grunt_spec.dds" Mipmaps="true" Type="2D" Wrap="Repeat" />
    </TextureUnits>
    <SpecificVariables>
        <Var Name="HeightMapScale" Value="0.05" />
        <Var Name="HeightMapBias" Value="0" />
        <Var Name="FrenselBias" Value="0.2" />
        <Var Name="FrenselPow" Value="8" />
    </SpecificVariables>
</Material>
I mean it's already set up for you, so I would think the only thing you would be interested in changing are the actual "Texture.dds" files already associated with it.


RE: How to change Servant Grunt texture/material? - GoreGrinder99 - 09-25-2013

(09-25-2013, 02:20 AM)Rapture Wrote: I'm a little confused to why you would want to change the ".mat" file, but to do that you just open it up (Same directory as the Grunt, called "servant_grunt.mat") and change what is under the "Diffuse", "NMap" and "Specular" sections.
Code:
<Material>
    <Main DepthTest="True" PhysicsMaterial="Default" Type="SolidDiffuse" />
    <TextureUnits>
        <Diffuse AnimFrameTime="" AnimMode="" File="servant_grunt.dds" Mipmaps="true" Type="2D" Wrap="Repeat" />
        <NMap AnimFrameTime="" AnimMode="" File="servant_grunt_nrm.dds" Mipmaps="true" Type="2D" Wrap="Repeat" />
        <Specular AnimFrameTime="" AnimMode="" File="servant_grunt_spec.dds" Mipmaps="true" Type="2D" Wrap="Repeat" />
    </TextureUnits>
    <SpecificVariables>
        <Var Name="HeightMapScale" Value="0.05" />
        <Var Name="HeightMapBias" Value="0" />
        <Var Name="FrenselBias" Value="0.2" />
        <Var Name="FrenselPow" Value="8" />
    </SpecificVariables>
</Material>
I mean it's already set up for you, so I would think the only thing you would be interested in changing are the actual "Texture.dds" files already associated with it.

I figured it out, thank you for the help!


RE: How to change Servant Grunt texture/material? - The chaser - 09-25-2013

http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-17299.html?highlight=How+to+Re-Texture


RE: How to change Servant Grunt texture/material? - GoreGrinder99 - 09-25-2013

Um actually, not solved... I got it to load properly with the new textures in the game but it is static, no animations, no sounds, no nothing, I can even walk through it. In the level editor however it has it's standard animation... What do I do now?!

I changed both .dds files to plain black.

I directed both materials to their respective .dds files.

I changed the lines to direct to the .dds files in the .dea file as well.

Not sure what I could have done to make this happen.

Well Damn... It was set as a static object in the model editor... So, I need to re-assign everything to it... Is there a shortcut anyone knows of?


RE: How to change Servant Grunt texture/material? - PutraenusAlivius - 09-25-2013

(09-25-2013, 07:22 AM)GoreGrinder99 Wrote: Um actually, not solved... I got it to load properly with the new textures in the game but it is static, no animations, no sounds, no nothing, I can even walk through it. In the level editor however it has it's standard animation... What do I do now?!

I changed both .dds files to plain black.

I directed both materials to their respective .dds files.

I changed the lines to direct to the .dds files in the .dea file as well.

Not sure what I could have done to make this happen.

Well Damn... It was set as a static object in the model editor... So, I need to re-assign everything to it... Is there a shortcut anyone knows of?

...You need another servant_grunt model. Or if you would go to the hard work and re-rig him again.


RE: How to change Servant Grunt texture/material? - GoreGrinder99 - 09-25-2013

(09-25-2013, 08:35 AM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote:
(09-25-2013, 07:22 AM)GoreGrinder99 Wrote: Um actually, not solved... I got it to load properly with the new textures in the game but it is static, no animations, no sounds, no nothing, I can even walk through it. In the level editor however it has it's standard animation... What do I do now?!

I changed both .dds files to plain black.

I directed both materials to their respective .dds files.

I changed the lines to direct to the .dds files in the .dea file as well.

Not sure what I could have done to make this happen.

Well Damn... It was set as a static object in the model editor... So, I need to re-assign everything to it... Is there a shortcut anyone knows of?

...You need another servant_grunt model. Or if you would go to the hard work and re-rig him again.

I took the original Grunt .ent and replaced it with the edited one and renamed it to what I had and it worked in game except it was the original game Grunt and not my edit. I went back to the editor and imported it which I forgot to do and it went straight back to what it was doing before, nothing, but it did in fact show as the proper end product I created. I tried to add the animations but once I got to the Walk animation I couldn't continue because it kept telling me that a field was blank when in fact nothing was and I had clicked enter on every box at least 10 times.


RE: How to change Servant Grunt texture/material? - PutraenusAlivius - 09-25-2013

(09-25-2013, 09:05 AM)GoreGrinder99 Wrote:
(09-25-2013, 08:35 AM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote:
(09-25-2013, 07:22 AM)GoreGrinder99 Wrote: Um actually, not solved... I got it to load properly with the new textures in the game but it is static, no animations, no sounds, no nothing, I can even walk through it. In the level editor however it has it's standard animation... What do I do now?!

I changed both .dds files to plain black.

I directed both materials to their respective .dds files.

I changed the lines to direct to the .dds files in the .dea file as well.

Not sure what I could have done to make this happen.

Well Damn... It was set as a static object in the model editor... So, I need to re-assign everything to it... Is there a shortcut anyone knows of?

...You need another servant_grunt model. Or if you would go to the hard work and re-rig him again.

I took the original Grunt .ent and replaced it with the edited one and renamed it to what I had and it worked in game except it was the original game Grunt and not my edit. I went back to the editor and imported it which I forgot to do and it went straight back to what it was doing before, nothing, but it did in fact show as the proper end product I created. I tried to add the animations but once I got to the Walk animation I couldn't continue because it kept telling me that a field was blank when in fact nothing was and I had clicked enter on every box at least 10 times.

If you want me to send you the original files, I could, but atleast get on Skype.