Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
how to make floor break when u go to a certain area - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: how to make floor break when u go to a certain area (/thread-25504.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13


RE: how to make floor break when u go to a certain area - Mudbill - 06-20-2014

Certainly a good start! Aside from the cliché story, it looks like you're getting the hang of how it all works.
Good luck onwards!


RE: how to make floor break when u go to a certain area - victorkim890(KimmyChimmy) - 06-20-2014

how to resize a monster(it doesnt work when i try to resize it and play it in amnesia cause its still the same size.) and how do u make the player make a noise like a scream when u go to an area( i tried to do it, but it didnt work)

(06-20-2014, 04:03 AM)Mudbill Wrote: Certainly a good start! Aside from the cliché story, it looks like you're getting the hang of how it all works.
Good luck onwards!
yep i kinda no how to make custom story


RE: how to make floor break when u go to a certain area - DnALANGE - 06-20-2014

Resizing monsters can NOT be done like that.
Only with Maya etc...


RE: how to make floor break when u go to a certain area - victorkim890(KimmyChimmy) - 06-20-2014

wat about how to make the player gasp or breathe or is frightened when u go to an area since i tried doing tat but it didnt work.


RE: how to make floor break when u go to a certain area - DnALANGE - 06-20-2014

Yes there is a script for that..
This is a script witch make the sound as the player is scared. and sorta confused.
Be free to use it.
-
PHP Code:
void OnEnter()//Or where you prefer to have this effect.

{
AddTimer("scare"0.3f"TimerPlayerReact");    
AddTimer("breath"2.0f"TimerPlayerReact");    
AddTimer("breathl"4.0f"TimerPlayerReact");
AddTimer("breathl"6.0f"TimerPlayerReact");

PHP Code:
void TimerPlayerReact(string &in asTimer)
{
    if(
asTimer == "scare"){
        
PlayGuiSound("react_scare"1.0f);
    }
    else if(
asTimer == "breath"){
        
PlayGuiSound("react_breath"0.8f);
    }
    else if(
asTimer == "breathl"){
        
PlayGuiSound("react_breath"0.5f);
    }    




RE: how to make floor break when u go to a certain area - victorkim890(KimmyChimmy) - 06-20-2014

does the breathing never stop? i kept waiting and the player kept breathing and breathing?

nvm it doesnt


RE: how to make floor break when u go to a certain area - Romulator - 06-20-2014

When you say you would like this to happen at a specific point, do you have code for that specific point already? Like for example, colliding with a ScriptArea?

The easiest thing you could do is this:
PHP Code:
PlaySoundAtEntity("""react_breath_slow.snt""Player"0false);
PlaySoundAtEntity("""react_scare""Player"0false); 

Just put it in your code inside a void where you would like it to happen.

Edit: Saw your edit. This is still here if you need it!


RE: how to make floor break when u go to a certain area - DnALANGE - 06-20-2014

Yours is good as well Rom.
mine wS just a longer one from Amnesia main game.
you can also change the timers in whatever you prefer.
i see it works. Thats great.


RE: how to make floor break when u go to a certain area - Romulator - 06-21-2014

(06-20-2014, 11:29 PM)DnALANGE Wrote: Yours is good as well Rom.
mine wS just a longer one from Amnesia main game.
you can also change the timers in whatever you prefer.
i see it works. Thats great.

Both work; yours is probably more realistic, but may not be beneficial to the 'standard' user as most do not understand if-then-else statements. Mine is just "play a sound when this happens".

Either way, both work, just need to be implemented correctly.


RE: how to make floor break when u go to a certain area - victorkim890(KimmyChimmy) - 06-21-2014

i found out wat to do. you just hav to hav a lot of sanity potion and the breathing stops