Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
Thank you, Frictional Games - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: General Discussion (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-18.html)
+--- Thread: Thank you, Frictional Games (/thread-3881.html)

Thank you, Frictional Games - Spiegelman - 09-07-2010

This is my first time here. Forgive me if there is an appreciation thread already, but it never hurts to receive more thanks, does it? Blush

Let me first say that I heard of this game through another forum and had no idea that you were the developer until I visited your website. After figuring this out I immediately crapped my pants remembering my adventures in the Penumbra series, and then again just imagining the thrills and chills I'll have in this new game. I checked this website at least four times a day waiting for a demo. Needless to say, I was not disappointed.

To me, you all are the last remnant of a dying franchise - survival horror. I'll admit, some of these new generation horror games have their moments, but none of them compared to the classic Resident Evil, Silent Hill, or even the more recent Fatal Frame (first one)... but then came Frictional Games and Penumbra (and soon to be Amnesia). I wish that these major developers would take you on board and let you continue working on your own projects with a hefty amount of financial support (if this ever happens, make sure they don't take over your game and soil your good name!).

One thing that put a thought in the back of my head though, is that you're releasing a level editor for players to make their own scenarios. Does this mean that we won't see another installment or support for quite some time? However, I can understand releasing this will improve the longevity the game and each new scenario we play will be a refreshing experience.