quick question - Printable Version +- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum) +-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html) +--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-35.html) +--- Thread: quick question (/thread-5875.html) |
quick question - LoneWolf - 12-24-2010 This comes up saying expected indentifier (356, 6)= void switch(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity) { (rest isnt neccessary, says that the line, void switch... isnt identified right?). What does this mean? I have the void switch under a useitemcallback = AddUseItemCallback("", "hammer", "lever1", "switch", true); So the hammer is used on lever1 which activated the void switch. What is wrong with my void switch then? RE: quick question - Frontcannon - 12-24-2010 Shouldn't that be an AddUseItemCallback? RE: quick question - LoneWolf - 12-24-2010 Yes it is i updated my post i put down some incorrect info. Anyway i have no idea what it means by unexpected identifier. Here is all my scripting to do with it, and the part before it = AddUseItemCallback("", "hammer", "lever1", "switch", true); void switch(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity) { AddTimer("music", 1, "TimerMusicDelay10"); GiveSanityBoost(); CompleteQuest("Quest_2", "Switch"); PlaySoundAtEntity("06_break_wood.snt", "06_break_wood.snt", "06_break_wood.snt", 0, false); PlaySoundAtEntity("16_ladder_imp1.snt", "16_ladder_imp1.snt", "16_ladder_imp1.snt", 0, false); SetEntityActive("castle_portcullis_1", false); SetEntityActive("lever1", false); SetEntityActive("lever2", true); SetEntityActive("lever3", true); RemoveItem("hammer"); CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("", "ps_hit_wood.ps", "ps_hit_wood.ps", false); CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("", "ps_hit_metal.ps", "ps_hit_metal.ps", false); } Dont worry about how the 'adduseitemcallback' is positioned, its under onstart part and is with the rest, with } + { of course, i think i may have a spelling error but right now i cant see any, i have done this alot. So hammer s used on Lever1, which activates switch function. So this cant be wrong? RE: quick question - Frontcannon - 12-24-2010 Assuming that with '6' they mean the part behind switch.. try changing the func name. It looks like switch is syntax-related and shouldn't be used as a func name, but that shouldn't matter either because void designates it as a function, you should be able to put anything you want there... RE: quick question - LoneWolf - 12-24-2010 Uhm... strangely enough that worked, i changed switch to switch12 just as a test, and it has worked now. Hmmm... thanks. EDIT: oh and i also have a small concern. AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_20", 0.0f, ""); AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_21", 0.0f, ""); AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_22", 0.0f, ""); AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_1", "PathNodeArea_23", 0.0f, ""); This should mean that the enemy doesn't stop right? because he does for some reason... its annoying, he stops for like 1 sec. RE: quick question - xiphirx - 12-24-2010 Yes, switch is syntax related. http://www-numi.fnal.gov/offline_software/srt_public_context/WebDocs/Companion/cxx_crib/switch.html |