Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
Variables? - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: Variables? (/thread-9289.html)



Variables? - JoeBradleyUK - 07-21-2011

I want to make it so when i enter an area, after I have entered a different area, something happens. I know how to make it happen when you enter an area and something happens, but what about I just said? I think this includes variables, does it not?


RE: Variables? - MrCookieh - 07-21-2011

You can activate area 2 when you enter area 1 Smile
You don't need any variables here Smile


RE: Variables? - Kyle - 07-21-2011

It does. Here you go, edit it to fit what you're doing:

Code:
void OnStart()
{
     AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "ScriptArea_1", "Func01", true, 1);
     AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "ScriptArea_2", "Func01", true, 1);
     SetLocalVarInt("Var01", 0);
}
void Func01(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
     AddLocalVarInt("Var01", 1);
     Func02();
}
void Func02()
{
     if (GetLocalVarInt("Var01") == 2)
     {
          // Do whatever you want after the player collides with both areas.
     }
}

Or was I mistaken? :/


RE: Variables? - JoeBradleyUK - 07-21-2011

(07-21-2011, 08:41 PM)MrCookieh Wrote: You can activate area 2 when you enter area 1 Smile
You don't need any variables here Smile

Oh I never thought of that, thanks, so could you use an example of variables and show how it works, so I don't have to ask in the future?Smile

Edit: what is the script function Of setting an area active? I can't find one that seems suitable!


RE: Variables? - MrCookieh - 07-21-2011

Never used variables in Amnesia.
It's quite confusing for me how Amnesia handles variables, because I got other experiences with variables.

Anyways, I think Kyle's script should work Smile


RE: Variables? - JoeBradleyUK - 07-21-2011

(07-21-2011, 08:51 PM)MrCookieh Wrote: Never used variables in Amnesia.
It's quite confusing for me how Amnesia handles variables, because I got other experiences with variables.

Anyways, I think Kyle's script should work Smile

Ok, but still do you know the script function of activating areas? Because areas arn't entities so I don't know.




RE: Variables? - MrCookieh - 07-21-2011

the same like entities Smile

SetEntitiyActive("Areaname", true);


RE: Variables? - JoeBradleyUK - 07-21-2011

(07-21-2011, 08:58 PM)MrCookieh Wrote: the same like entities Smile

SetEntitiyActive("Areaname", true);

Oh. Alright Smile thanks for your help. And yours too Kyle Smile