FlawlessHappiness
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
171
|
"if" scripting
I have a problem with the if scripting...
My idea is that a room is patroled by a monster, but to keep the monstermusic from being played all the time, the monster only spawns when you touch the door. Then after a few minutes it goes inactive again because it is has no more pathnodes.
Now, when you pick up a note that says you have to go to the other side of the patroled room, the monster will be gone.
Here is my script:
void OnStart()
{
SetEntityPlayerInteractCallback("door_teacher1", "OnInteract1", false);
}
void OnInteract1(string &in asEntity)
{
if(HasItem("note3") == true)
{
}
else
SetEntityActive("monster_teacher1", true);
AddEnemyPatrolNode("monster_teacher1", "PathNodeArea_1", 1, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("monster_teacher1", "PathNodeArea_2", 1, "");
}
The problem is that the monster spawns even though i've got the note
Trying is the first step to success.
|
|
03-15-2012, 06:47 PM |
|
ClayPigeon
Member
Posts: 214
Threads: 13
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
8
|
RE: "if" scripting
Try this:
if(HasItem("note3") == true)
{
SetEntityActive("monster_teacher1", false);
}
|
|
03-15-2012, 06:56 PM |
|
SilentStriker
Posting Freak
Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
43
|
RE: "if" scripting
More like
if(HasItem("note3"))
because the == true makes it if true then true
|
|
03-15-2012, 07:04 PM |
|
FlawlessHappiness
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
171
|
RE: "if" scripting
Nope still didnt... work...
I guess the script is setup so no matter what, it will run the script beneath "else" because the upper { and the lover } is connected. Then if i has the note it will first set the monster inactive, then set it active... i might try to do this with an area instead because the door will be buggy...
I guess i can just make the area go inactive then?
Trying is the first step to success.
|
|
03-15-2012, 07:12 PM |
|
SilentStriker
Posting Freak
Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
43
|
RE: "if" scripting
Does it give you errors or is it just not working?
|
|
03-15-2012, 07:14 PM |
|
Your Computer
SCAN ME!
Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
235
|
RE: "if" scripting
If it always yields to else, then it is safe to conclude that HasItem cannot be used to determine whether the player has a specific note.
|
|
03-15-2012, 07:21 PM |
|
FlawlessHappiness
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
171
|
RE: "if" scripting
It works fine except the monster is still there
Trying is the first step to success.
|
|
03-15-2012, 07:24 PM |
|