Battlefield3142
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Threads: 3
Joined: May 2012
Reputation:
0
|
Why wouldn't this script work?
(in OnStart)
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "popout1", "SetEntityActive", false, 0); (When player crosses a script box called popout1, an entity is set active.
then
void SetEntityActive(string& jesus, bool abActive);
{
if(HasItem("scarykey_1") == false) return;
SetEntityActive("jesus");
}
if a player has an item called scarykey_1, this wont happen and it will return to unactive
make entity (a rag doll called jesus) active.
for some reason I receive an error when launching the map.
not sure why.
|
|
05-29-2012, 07:18 PM |
|
Your Computer
SCAN ME!
Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
235
|
RE: Why wouldn't this script work?
You can't overload a function with the same return type and parameters. Also, function headers don't end with a semi-colon.
(This post was last modified: 05-29-2012, 07:54 PM by Your Computer.)
|
|
05-29-2012, 07:53 PM |
|
Battlefield3142
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Threads: 3
Joined: May 2012
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Why wouldn't this script work?
There we go! Thanks! Stupid typing mistakes...
wait.. still something came up.. sorry
is this what you were saying?
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "popout1", "SetEntityActive", false, 0);
void SetEntityActive(string &in Player, string &in popout1, int alState)
{
if(HasItem("scarykey_1");
SetEntityActive("jesus");
}
|
|
05-29-2012, 08:04 PM |
|
Prelauncher
Senior Member
Posts: 451
Threads: 11
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
13
|
RE: Why wouldn't this script work?
You know, you don't have to make a new thread for every question
Socialism (noun): A great way to run out of other people's money.
|
|
05-29-2012, 08:39 PM |
|
Battlefield3142
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Threads: 3
Joined: May 2012
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Why wouldn't this script work?
Oh, sorry. I didnt mean to upset anyone. ![Sad Sad](https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/images/smilies/sad.gif) Yeah. I wont do that unless I have to.
but still, yes I have read the tutorial, I am still not to sure what the problem is. I know, I probably seem like the biggest retard on the forum, but when I don't know I'm not sure where else to turn besides here or the script functions page. But even then, sometimes I don't get exactly want to put in the
parameters.
|
|
05-29-2012, 08:44 PM |
|
Prelauncher
Senior Member
Posts: 451
Threads: 11
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
13
|
RE: Why wouldn't this script work?
Don't worry man, we've seen the retards on the forum and you're not one of them ![Wink Wink](https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/images/smilies/wink.gif) you're just new to this stuff, and belive me, everybody had trouble getting the scripts to work in the beginning.
(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
Socialism (noun): A great way to run out of other people's money.
(This post was last modified: 05-29-2012, 09:22 PM by Prelauncher.)
|
|
05-29-2012, 09:11 PM |
|
Your Computer
SCAN ME!
Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
235
|
RE: Why wouldn't this script work?
SetEntityActive(string) does not exist. You're missing the second argument next to "jesus".
|
|
05-29-2012, 09:19 PM |
|
Battlefield3142
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Threads: 3
Joined: May 2012
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Why wouldn't this script work?
ok, so i put that for the void part, but in the {} I have
{
if(HasItem("scarykey_1");
SetEntityActive("jesus");
}
so that if player has a key, then the weird figure will appear (named jesus) I don't see any other way to say that in the callback besides that. Unless theres some weird formula of words lol. I cant find them on the SF page.
Again, thanks for still helping!
|
|
05-29-2012, 09:26 PM |
|
Prelauncher
Senior Member
Posts: 451
Threads: 11
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
13
|
RE: Why wouldn't this script work?
SetEntityActive("jesus", true);
Socialism (noun): A great way to run out of other people's money.
|
|
05-29-2012, 09:27 PM |
|
Battlefield3142
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Threads: 3
Joined: May 2012
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Why wouldn't this script work?
ok so, my script now looks like this
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "popout2", "SetEntityActive", false, 0); //(this is my second collide callback if that means something. But "SetEntityActive" is only used once.)
void SetEntityActive(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
if(HasItem("scarykey_1") == false) return;
SetEntityActive("jesus", true);
}
I've looked over this like 9 times now, both on the script functions page and feedback from you guys. And Computer, what do you mean SetEntityAcitve has no (string) it does in the functions page.
(05-30-2012, 04:24 AM)Battlefield3142 Wrote: ok so, my script now looks like this
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "popout2", "SetEntityActive", false, 0); //(this is my second collide callback if that means something. But "SetEntityActive" is only used once.)
void SetEntityActive(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
if(HasItem("scarykey_1") == false) return;
SetEntityActive("jesus", true);
}
I've looked over this like 9 times now, both on the script functions page and feedback from you guys. And Computer, what do you mean SetEntityAcitve has no (string) it does in the functions page. I made a new script box btw called popout2, thats why thats different.
|
|
05-30-2012, 04:24 AM |
|
|