AlexxShadenk777
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Threads: 5
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
1
|
RE: Prison Section Door
I opened up both enemies in the model editor, and looked into their stats in the user defined variables. Scrolled down to their respective BreakDoorAttackDamage spaces but it occurred to me that it can't be the damage, otherwise a Grunt would eventually destroy that door, just take twice as long as a Brute (damage is 26 for a Grunt, 50 for a Brute). However, if you look further down there's the stat BreakDoorAttackStrength, and it's 6 for a Grunt, but 3 for the Brute.
Just a thought, maybe that 3 is relevant. Or it's just something else entirely. It's something.
|
|
07-26-2011, 09:10 PM |
|
MrCookieh
Member
Posts: 157
Threads: 8
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Prison Section Door
Okay, that would be awesome if it works, because my 'Hide door1, unhide destroyed door2' thing
doesn't work really well, because the grunt keeps hitting in the air.
I'm trying it out now
/After Testing: Nope, doesn't work :/
anyways, thanks for help, I might search in the model editor any options, which might help!
(This post was last modified: 07-26-2011, 09:24 PM by MrCookieh.)
|
|
07-26-2011, 09:18 PM |
|
Grimstoll
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Threads: 2
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Prison Section Door
If you're willing to use the model editor i suppose you could open the prison section door, (save as a new entity called prison_section_YOURNAMEHERE.ent) click on the hinges, check 'Disable Visible Mesh' (or something similar) and delete the hinge body. then delete the hinge_constraint. You can then test the entity by pressing the cogwheels at the bottom. The door should move freely, as if not on hinges.
Then you can use palistov's suggestion, but instead of using setprophealth(0); you use SetEntityActive("prison_section_mycustomentity" , true);
Edit: There is already a prison_section_broken.ent, just use SetEntityActive("prison_section_broken" , true); after three or four hits.
Also it seems there is no 'Disable Visible Mesh' checkbox, even though i'm positive i saw one earlier...
Nevermind, you've already tried that, maybe try going into model editor>settings>uservariables and make sure that the entity which spawns on break is prison_section_broken.ent
(This post was last modified: 07-27-2011, 12:11 AM by Grimstoll.)
|
|
07-27-2011, 12:02 AM |
|
MrCookieh
Member
Posts: 157
Threads: 8
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Prison Section Door
I already tried it with setting the prison door active = false, but then the grunt doesn't stop attacking
the air, although I removed his current pathnodes, and gave him new ones.
And how can I get how many times the grunt hit the door?
|
|
07-27-2011, 11:05 AM |
|
Grimstoll
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Threads: 2
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Prison Section Door
AddEntityCollideCallback("grunt_1" , "door_1" , "hitdoor" , false , 1);
hitdoor(asParent , asChild , alState);
{
AddLocalVarInt("HitNumber" , 1);
if(GetLocalVarInt("HitNumber")>=3){
// Grunt has hit the door 3 times
}
}
|
|
07-27-2011, 03:54 PM |
|
MrCookieh
Member
Posts: 157
Threads: 8
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Prison Section Door
Okay I've set the grunt inactive instantly after bashing the door, and turning him active again, and now
he stops bashing the door.
Ahhh, I've never thought that this would work! Thank you very much!
|
|
07-28-2011, 10:56 AM |
|
MrCookieh
Member
Posts: 157
Threads: 8
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Prison Section Door
(07-27-2011, 03:54 PM)Grimstoll Wrote: AddEntityCollideCallback("grunt_1" , "door_1" , "hitdoor" , false , 1);
hitdoor(asParent , asChild , alState);
{
AddLocalVarInt("HitNumber" , 1);
if(GetLocalVarInt("HitNumber")>=3){
// Grunt has hit the door 3 times
}
}
Hmm, this doesn't work, it seems that the grunt doesn't 'touch' the door...
|
|
07-31-2011, 09:59 AM |
|
DRedshot
Senior Member
Posts: 374
Threads: 23
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation:
11
|
RE: Prison Section Door
try:
AddEntityCollideCallback("grunt_1" , "doorArea" , "hitdoor" , false , 1);
hitdoor(asParent , asChild , alState);
{
AddLocalVarInt("HitNumber" , 1);
if(GetLocalVarInt("HitNumber")>=3){
// Grunt has hit the door 3 times
}
}
just make an area in front of the door
(This post was last modified: 07-31-2011, 12:23 PM by DRedshot.)
|
|
07-31-2011, 12:22 PM |
|
Kyle
Posting Freak
Posts: 911
Threads: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation:
7
|
RE: Prison Section Door
hitdoor(asParent , asChild , alState);
{
AddLocalVarInt("HitNumber" , 1);
if(GetLocalVarInt("HitNumber")>=3){
// Grunt has hit the door 3 times
}
}
This is wrong...
Try this:
void hitdoor(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
AddLocalVarInt("HitNumber", 1);
if (GetLocalVarInt("HitNumber") == 3)
{
SetPropHealth("DoorName", 0);
}
}
By the way, what if the door is already open? What are you going to do then? Add it to the script? You can simply have the monster stand there as the game simulates the monster hitting it each time with the monster just standing right outside of the door until the door is broken down, then the monster continues on his path.
(This post was last modified: 07-31-2011, 02:16 PM by Kyle.)
|
|
07-31-2011, 02:13 PM |
|
MrCookieh
Member
Posts: 157
Threads: 8
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Prison Section Door
Well, we are talking about a prisoner door, that can't be destroyed by grunts.
(Also I somehow think, that in the main story, a grunt can destroy the last door in the prison, although
it's a prison door...)
We already tried the SetPropHealth(...); But it somehow can't be destroyed, that's why I want to simulate
him breaking the door via trigger.
And the door is locked, it can't be opened.
|
|
07-31-2011, 03:36 PM |
|
|