Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Script Help I don't see what's wrong here
Cyphermur9t Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 38
Threads: 17
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 2
#1
I don't see what's wrong here

I'm having an issue of activating an AreaScript from another AreaScript, and having the newly activated one activate a Monster when touched. I just can't see what I did wrong with the code...

void OnStart()
{
    /////////
    //MONSTERS    
    AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "ScriptArea_3", "FUNCTION5", true, 1);
    
    /////////
    //AREAS
    AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "ScriptArea_4", "FUNCTION6", true, 1);
}


void FUNCTION5(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
    SetEntityActive("servant_brute_2", true);
    AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2", "PathNodeArea_5", 0, "");
    AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2", "PathNodeArea_6", 0, "");
    AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2", "PathNodeArea_7", 0, "");
    AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2", "PathNodeArea_8", 0, "");
    AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2", "PathNodeArea_9", 0, "");
    AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2", "PathNodeArea_10", 0, "");
    AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2", "PathNodeArea_11", 0, "");
}

void FUNCTION6(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
    SetEntityActive("ScriptArea_3", true);
}
02-07-2013, 08:10 AM
Find
NaxEla Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 415
Threads: 5
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 28
#2
RE: I don't see what's wrong here

Does the map crash when you try to load it? Or does the script just do nothing? If the map crashes, could you please post the error that pops up? If the script just does nothing, make sure that all the names are correct for the areas and the monster.

Also, delete any .map_cache files in your folder where your maps are kept. Maybe you added ScriptArea_3 or ScriptArea_4 in the level editor, but because of the map_cache, it didn't load the area in-game.

In Ruins [WIP]
02-07-2013, 08:28 AM
Find
Cyphermur9t Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 38
Threads: 17
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 2
#3
RE: I don't see what's wrong here

All the names are correct. I check in the level editor and the hps file to see if they're all there. They are in both with the exact same names, I c+p'ed their names into the hps file.

It does not crash, the script for that just does not run. Also I had no cache file in my maps folder.
(This post was last modified: 02-07-2013, 08:43 AM by Cyphermur9t.)
02-07-2013, 08:42 AM
Find
PutraenusAlivius Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 4,713
Threads: 75
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 119
#4
RE: I don't see what's wrong here

PHP Code: (Select All)
void OnStart()

{   
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ScriptArea_4""AreaEnable"true1);
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ScriptArea_3""MonsterSpawn"true1);

}
void AreaEnable(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)

{

    
SetEntityActive("ScriptArea_4"true);

}
void MonsterSpawn(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)

{

    
SetEntityActive("servant_brute_2"true);

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_5"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_6"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_7"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_8"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_9"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_10"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_11"0"");


My Script. Try it out.

"Veni, vidi, vici."
"I came, I saw, I conquered."
(This post was last modified: 02-07-2013, 08:51 AM by PutraenusAlivius.)
02-07-2013, 08:50 AM
Find
NaxEla Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 415
Threads: 5
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 28
#5
RE: I don't see what's wrong here

(02-07-2013, 08:50 AM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote:
PHP Code: (Select All)
void OnStart()

{   
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ScriptArea_4""AreaEnable"true1);
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ScriptArea_3""MonsterSpawn"true1);

}
void AreaEnable(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)

{

    
SetEntityActive("ScriptArea_4"true);

}
void MonsterSpawn(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)

{

    
SetEntityActive("servant_brute_2"true);

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_5"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_6"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_7"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_8"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_9"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_10"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_11"0"");


My Script. Try it out.

It seems like all you did was change the function names...?

To OP: You might have a .map_cache file in your virtual store. The path will be something like this:
C:/Users/[USERNAME]/AppData/Local/VirtualStore/ProgramFiles(x86)/Amnesia - The Dark Descent/redist/custom_stories

If that doesn't work, double check that your .map file and .hps have exactly the same names.

In Ruins [WIP]
02-07-2013, 09:09 AM
Find
GoranGaming Offline
Member

Posts: 183
Threads: 30
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 7
#6
RE: I don't see what's wrong here

Why don't you use vagiables instead? Much easier Smile

Current projects:

The Dark Prison 85 % (Stopped working on this one)

Unnamed Project 7 %
02-07-2013, 10:14 AM
Website Find
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#7
RE: I don't see what's wrong here

Check if PlayerLookAtCallbackAutoRemove isn't checked. If it's checked it might not work.

It is located in the corresponding ScriptArea's properties under Area.

Trying is the first step to success.
02-07-2013, 10:50 AM
Find
PutraenusAlivius Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 4,713
Threads: 75
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 119
#8
RE: I don't see what's wrong here

(02-07-2013, 09:09 AM)NaxEla Wrote:
(02-07-2013, 08:50 AM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote:
PHP Code: (Select All)
void OnStart()

{   
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ScriptArea_4""AreaEnable"true1);
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ScriptArea_3""MonsterSpawn"true1);

}
void AreaEnable(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)

{

    
SetEntityActive("ScriptArea_4"true);

}
void MonsterSpawn(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)

{

    
SetEntityActive("servant_brute_2"true);

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_5"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_6"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_7"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_8"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_9"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_10"0"");

    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("servant_brute_2""PathNodeArea_11"0"");


My Script. Try it out.

It seems like all you did was change the function names...?

To OP: You might have a .map_cache file in your virtual store. The path will be something like this:
C:/Users/[USERNAME]/AppData/Local/VirtualStore/ProgramFiles(x86)/Amnesia - The Dark Descent/redist/custom_stories

If that doesn't work, double check that your .map file and .hps have exactly the same names.
Compared it to my script.

"Veni, vidi, vici."
"I came, I saw, I conquered."
02-07-2013, 10:51 AM
Find
Cyphermur9t Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 38
Threads: 17
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 2
#9
RE: I don't see what's wrong here

Everything works now. I'm not too sure what was wrong but for somereason the script I was using was correct after all and is working. Kind of strange because I knew I saved everything before I tried it out. *shrugs* Oh well. Thanks for the suggestions though everyone!
02-11-2013, 04:54 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)