Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Poll: Would you use this tool?
You do not have permission to vote in this poll.
I am a developer, and I would use this tool for my custom stories
50.00%
8 50.00%
I am a developer, and I would not use this tool for my custom stories (Please specify why)
25.00%
4 25.00%
I am a player, and I would like developers to use this tool
18.75%
3 18.75%
I am a player, and I would not like developers to use this tool (Please specify why)
6.25%
1 6.25%
Total 16 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 4.2 Average
Announcement Amnesia: The Dark Descent - Custom Story Installation Creator
MulleDK19 Offline

Threads: 21
Heart  Amnesia: The Dark Descent - Custom Story Installation Creator

Back when Amnesia: The Dark Descent was first released I created and released a tool that allowed easy creation of installers (Old thread).

However, it did not see a widespread use as large as I had hoped.
One of the reasons probably being that some people are using Linux or Mac, and would need a .zip version as well.

But since then I've rebooted the entire project, and can now present v2, with current support for both Windows and Linux (.NET Framework and Mono respectively).

I'm working on support for Mac OS/X as well.

What is this?
The Amnesia Custom Story Installer consists of two components.
  • The creator
  • The installer

As a developer, you will be interested mainly in the creator. As a player you will be interested mainly in the installer.

The creator is used by developers of custom stories to generate an installer for players of Amnesia. The developer will then distribute the generated installer for his or her custom story, for players to download.

Once a player has downloaded the installer for a custom story, he or she will execute it, and it'll automaticly find their game installation and install the custom story.