batass
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Threads: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation:
0
|
Sound Entity Doesn't work
Hello,
I copy the sound "ambience_haunting.ogg" and "ambience_haunting.snt" from Amnesia.app/Contents/Resources/sounds/ambiance and paste it in Amnesia.app/Contents/Resources/custom_stories/mymap/sounds.
In HPL Level Editor, I use the "sounds (5)" tool and put this sound in my map, right in the place where I appear in the game.
When I select it, I can see that his name is "Sound_1", it's active, there is nothing written in the "Sound Entity File" square, "Use Default" is checked, Distance is min=1/max=5 and volume=1.
Here is the .sng file I use:
<SOUNDENTITY>
<SOUNDS>
<Main>
<Sound File="ambience_haunting" />
</Main>
</SOUNDS>
<PROPERTIES Volume="0.5" MinDistance="0" MaxDistance="0" Random="1" Interval="0" FadeEnd="False" FadeStart="False" Stream="True" Loop="True" Use3D="False" Blockable="False" BlockVolumeMul="0.5" Priority="0" />
</SOUNDENTITY>
The problem is: When I Play my Custom Story, I can hear my footsteps, my heartbeat when there's no lightning, etc..., but I can't hear my sound.
Do I forget something?
Thank You and sorry for my english.
|
|
12-20-2012, 07:01 PM |
|
The chaser
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation:
113
|
RE: Sound Entity Doesn't work
(12-20-2012, 07:01 PM)batass Wrote: Hello,
I copy the sound "ambience_haunting.ogg" and "ambience_haunting.snt" from Amnesia.app/Contents/Resources/sounds/ambiance and paste it in Amnesia.app/Contents/Resources/custom_stories/mymap/sounds.
In HPL Level Editor, I use the "sounds (5)" tool and put this sound in my map, right in the place where I appear in the game.
When I select it, I can see that his name is "Sound_1", it's active, there is nothing written in the "Sound Entity File" square, "Use Default" is checked, Distance is min=1/max=5 and volume=1.
Here is the .sng file I use:
<SOUNDENTITY>
<SOUNDS>
<Main>
<Sound File="ambience_haunting" />
</Main>
</SOUNDS>
<PROPERTIES Volume="0.5" MinDistance="0" MaxDistance="0" Random="1" Interval="0" FadeEnd="False" FadeStart="False" Stream="True" Loop="True" Use3D="False" Blockable="False" BlockVolumeMul="0.5" Priority="0" />
</SOUNDENTITY>
The problem is: When I Play my Custom Story, I can hear my footsteps, my heartbeat when there's no lightning, etc..., but I can't hear my sound.
Do I forget something?
Thank You and sorry for my english.
Yes, you forgot to do something:
<SOUNDENTITY>
<SOUNDS>
<Main>
<Sound File="ambience_haunting. ogg" />
</Main>
</SOUNDS>
<PROPERTIES Volume="0.5" MinDistance="0" MaxDistance="0" Random="1" Interval="0" FadeEnd="False" FadeStart="False" Stream="True" Loop="True" Use3D="False" Blockable="False" BlockVolumeMul="0.5" Priority="0" />
</SOUNDENTITY>
And, is .snt, not sng
THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
Aculy iz dolan.
|
|
12-20-2012, 07:08 PM |
|
batass
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Threads: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Sound Entity Doesn't work
Thank you for your response. I changed the .snt file.
It's now:
<SOUNDENTITY>
<SOUNDS>
<Main>
<Sound File="ambience_haunting.ogg" />
</Main>
</SOUNDS>
<PROPERTIES Volume="0.5" MinDistance="0" MaxDistance="0" Random="1" Interval="0" FadeEnd="False" FadeStart="False" Stream="True" Loop="True" Use3D="False" Blockable="False" BlockVolumeMul="0.5" Priority="0" />
</SOUNDENTITY>
But unfortunately, there is still the same issue. I can't here the sound.
Is there anything I forget?
Thanks.
|
|
12-20-2012, 11:05 PM |
|
FlawlessHappiness
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
171
|
RE: Sound Entity Doesn't work
(12-20-2012, 07:01 PM)batass Wrote: there is nothing written in the "Sound Entity File" square
I'm pretty sure that if you want a sound, then there should be something in the "Sound Entity File"
Trying is the first step to success.
|
|
12-21-2012, 06:46 AM |
|
The chaser
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation:
113
|
RE: Sound Entity Doesn't work
<SOUNDENTITY>
<SOUNDS>
<Main>
<Sound File="<font 9pt:normal/auto;;rgb(255, 0, 0);;inherit>ambience_haunting.ogg</font> " />
</Main>
</SOUNDS>
<PROPERTIES Volume="5" MinDistance="1" MaxDistance="50" Random="0" Interval="0" FadeEnd="False" FadeStart="False" Stream="False" Loop="False" Use3D="false" Blockable="False" BlockVolumeMul="0.7" Priority="5" />
</SOUNDENTITY>
Try this one. Fresh from the =sounds]wiki
THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
Aculy iz dolan.
|
|
12-21-2012, 11:01 AM |
|
FlawlessHappiness
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
171
|
RE: Sound Entity Doesn't work
(12-21-2012, 11:01 AM)The chaser Wrote: <SOUNDENTITY>
<SOUNDS>
<Main>
<Sound File="ambience_haunting.ogg" />
</Main>
</SOUNDS>
<PROPERTIES Volume="5" MinDistance="1" MaxDistance="50" Random="0" Interval="0" FadeEnd="False" FadeStart="False" Stream="False" Loop="False" Use3D="false" Blockable="False" BlockVolumeMul="0.7" Priority="5" />
</SOUNDENTITY>
Try this one. Fresh from the =sounds]wiki
Fixed ^
You had some color codes in there
Trying is the first step to success.
|
|
12-21-2012, 11:22 AM |
|
The chaser
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation:
113
|
RE: Sound Entity Doesn't work
What? That's just from the wiki and worked perfectly for me 0_0
Ok, it's:
<SOUNDENTITY>
<SOUNDS>
<Main>
<Sound File="YourStory/Sounds/Soundsfolder/Sound.ogg" />
</Main>
</SOUNDS>
<PROPERTIES Volume="5" MinDistance="1" MaxDistance="10" Random="1" Interval="0" FadeEnd="False" FadeStart="False" Stream="True" Loop="False" Use3D="True" Blockable="False" BlockVolumeMul="0.8" Priority="0" />
</SOUNDENTITY>
THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
Aculy iz dolan.
|
|
12-21-2012, 12:05 PM |
|
batass
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Threads: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Sound Entity Doesn't work
It still doesn't work.
With the "sounds tool (5)" I select the sound I want by clicking on the grey square next to "sound file". Then the name of the sound is written in the white square.
After that, I place the sound where I want in the map and as soon as I click and place it, if I look at the tab "Sound", I can see that the white square of "Sound Entity File" is blank. And if I click on the grey square (...) next to it, re-select the sound and click on "load" the white square remains blank.
Is it normal?
Thanks.
PS: The issue is the same if I don't choose a custom sound. Even with the sounds taken directly from the "sounds" folder of Amnesia's Resources.
|
|
12-21-2012, 05:19 PM |
|
Daemian
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,129
Threads: 42
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation:
49
|
RE: Sound Entity Doesn't work
i had a problem like this with a sound
problem was it had the same name, so mine was ignored, the original ran instead
so i changed its name. file name, reference inside the .snt, etc. and it worked
|
|
12-31-2012, 04:18 AM |
|
|