Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Computing qualifications and where they could lead?
Wooderson Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 25
Computing qualifications and where they could lead?

So i'm studying A Level Computing in college, currently in my first year and to put it simply i'm struggling with the theory and practical work.

Theory is just general shit you're expected to know, practical is more programming and stuff. We're using VB since thats mean't to be good for beginners.

Thing is, i'll probably fail this year and have to retake it next year since they don't like people going on to the harder stuff if they can't manage the first year.

From what i'm doing now, I don't see how it could be applied in any work place and in general am clueless as to what the qualification will open up for me.

Since you guys here at FG seem to know a good amount about these sorts of things i'm asking for some directions...

[Image: luv.gif]
02-25-2013, 10:34 PM
Find
Bridge Offline
Posting Freak

RE: Computing qualifications and where they could lead?

You're going to have to decide for yourself. Consider this: Does reading about how computers work and how they can be manipulated via programming cause you to light up? If not, there is probably very little reason for you to continue studying computing.

By the way, I don't really appreciate your attitude. What does "probably" fail mean? If you want to continue studying it next year instead of retaking it, then that's what you do. I don't mean to be trite, but:

Master Yoda Wrote:Do or do not, there is no try.
02-25-2013, 11:12 PM
Find
Rapture Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 79

Sounds like you have no interest at all. So your just wasting money to find out later you didn't like the subject and now your stuck with a life-time bill.
02-25-2013, 11:45 PM
Find
Froge Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 176

Bridge hits it dead on