Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Help with Cinematic Intro?
Racingcreed Offline

Threads: 12
Help with Cinematic Intro?

I was wondering if someone out there might be able to help me. I'm not sure how complex this is to do, but it would really be appreciated if someone could help me with my problem.

So, what I'm looking to do is create an opening cinematic sequence for my story, what I'm looking for is really how to do cinematic introductions. What I'm trying to do is:

Cinematic introduction, opening credits, title of story, chapter etc which then fades to black, and back into game, with the character looking about, panicing before the control is handed back to the player..

I realized this is probably a broad request, but if anyone could either create this or give me some sense of how to do this it would be so helpful!

P.S - I'm new to scripting so dumbing down as many answers as possible would be a big help, thanks!!!!!!

Every artist dips his brush in his own soul, and paints his own nature into his pictures. - H.W.B

03-17-2013, 09:03 PM
Find
Adrianis Offline

Threads: 6
RE: Help with Cinematic Intro?

Your right, that is a broad request Smile
Too broad, in fact. For the actual display of credits, titles & chapter names etc, there are several different ways of doing it, and that would very much change how you go about doing it.

One of the simpler (to implement) and more effective ways IMO is how White Night did it (if you haven't played it, go check it out), where text is displayed in an in-game environment, albeit with player control removed.
To do that, you'd use FadeIn/FadeOut funcs, TeleportPlayer to move the player around the different scenes, create entities on which to display the text(s). Then it's a case of mapping out interesting / relevant areas to display them in.