Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Inactive lights emitting light
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#11
RE: Inactive lights emitting light

Can I ask you to be more specific? Tongue

Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
03-24-2013, 07:41 AM
Find
PutraenusAlivius Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 4,713
Threads: 75
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 119
#12
RE: Inactive lights emitting light

(03-24-2013, 07:41 AM)eagledude4 Wrote: Can I ask you to be more specific? Tongue
How to make a script text for maps
1. Make a new text document.
2. Change the extension to .hps
3. Make sure the name of your hps and map file are the same.
4. Notepad or some other text documents WILL not recognize it. Use a default program to open it.
-----
Now, begin scripting!

"Veni, vidi, vici."
"I came, I saw, I conquered."
03-24-2013, 07:49 AM
Find
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#13
RE: Inactive lights emitting light

I already have a script file, and the correct functions for activating the point lights. I was trying to ask for more detail on how to use the callbackfunc box in the editor to run a the below function:

void cornerlight(string &in asEntity, string &in OnIgnite) {
    SetLightVisible("hallway_light", true);
}

I want to avoid having a SetEntityCallbackFunc for each light in the script file itself. AKA Get rid of:
SetEntityCallbackFunc("candlestick_wall_5", "cornerlight");
SetEntityCallbackFunc("candlestick_wall_6", "cornerlight");

Sorry for being unclear.

Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
(This post was last modified: 03-24-2013, 08:54 AM by eagledude4.)
03-24-2013, 08:10 AM
Find
NaxEla Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 415
Threads: 5
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 28
#14
RE: Inactive lights emitting light

Mini tutorial for connecting lights Big Grin:

You do not need to set the light inactive in neither the level editor, nor in the script.

Set the point light colour to black (0, 0, 0), and write the point light name where it says ConnectedLight in the candle properties.
Spoiler below!

The ConnectionLightAmount is the amount the pointlight will change when the candle is lit. It takes the colour of the candles light, multiplies it by the amount (in this case 0.3), then adds that to the point light. So if you want a candle to significantly increase the point lights colour, then you would put in a high value.
Spoiler below!

For the smaller candle, I put a lower ConnectionLightAmount.
Spoiler below!

In Ruins [WIP]
(This post was last modified: 03-24-2013, 08:50 AM by NaxEla.)
03-24-2013, 08:48 AM
Find
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#15
RE: Inactive lights emitting light

OH. Now I see what you guys meant by setting it to black. Thanks a lot, now my script is half the size Tongue

Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
03-24-2013, 09:56 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)