Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Script Help Script Error
MaksoPL Offline
Member

Posts: 51
Threads: 26
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
#1
Script Error

Hi, I've maked script to show message when I click on the object. I clicked on object in game, and message don't showed up.
.hps script:

...
void CarScript(string &in asEntity)
{
if(GetLocalVarInt("Switch") == 0)
{
SetEntityCallbackFunc("CarScript","Info");
}
}

void Info(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
SetMessage("Message","CarScript",0);
}


What i must do?
07-01-2015, 06:50 PM
Find
Amnesiaplayer Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 539
Threads: 105
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
#2
RE: Script Error

(07-01-2015, 06:50 PM)MaksoPL Wrote: Hi, I've maked script to show message when I click on the object. I clicked on object in game, and message don't showed up.
.hps script:

...
void CarScript(string &in asEntity)
{
if(GetLocalVarInt("Switch") == 0)
{
SetEntityCallbackFunc("CarScript","Info");
}
}

void Info(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
SetMessage("Message","CarScript",0);
}


What i must do?


Go to your level editor, and Click on the object. Then go to the entity tab, and type in the " PlayerInteractCallBack" the name, lik you used. Info

so type in Info in the tab, and then :

void Info(string &in asEntity)
{
SetMessage("Message", "CarScript", 0);
}

Let me know if it worked.
Btw, if you want this for the static objects to, Then just create an area and do the same stuff.
07-01-2015, 08:42 PM
Find
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#3
RE: Script Error

Looking away from your script, and just at what you said I'd presume what you want is

void Info(string &in asEntity)
{
SetMessage("Message","CarScript", 0);
}

Then put this in void OnStart()

SetEntityPlayerInteractCallback(NameOfEntity, "Info", false);

Trying is the first step to success.
07-01-2015, 10:04 PM
Find
Amnesiaplayer Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 539
Threads: 105
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
#4
RE: Script Error

(07-01-2015, 10:04 PM)FlawlessHappiness Wrote: Looking away from your script, and just at what you said I'd presume what you want is

void Info(string &in asEntity)
{
SetMessage("Message","CarScript", 0);
}

Then put this in void OnStart()

SetEntityPlayerInteractCallback(NameOfEntity, "Info", false);

You don't need the setentityplayerinteractcallback, this is possible in the entity tab itself, for the entities. right?
07-01-2015, 10:11 PM
Find
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#5
RE: Script Error

(07-01-2015, 10:11 PM)Amnesiaplayer Wrote:
(07-01-2015, 10:04 PM)FlawlessHappiness Wrote: Looking away from your script, and just at what you said I'd presume what you want is

void Info(string &in asEntity)
{
SetMessage("Message","CarScript", 0);
}

Then put this in void OnStart()

SetEntityPlayerInteractCallback(NameOfEntity, "Info", false);

You don't need the setentityplayerinteractcallback, this is possible in the entity tab itself, for the entities. right?

It is. But that's harder to explain, and I'd rather just avoid communication errors.

Trying is the first step to success.
07-02-2015, 01:24 AM
Find
Romulator Offline
Not Tech Support ;-)

Posts: 3,628
Threads: 63
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 195
#6
RE: Script Error

(07-01-2015, 10:11 PM)Amnesiaplayer Wrote:
(07-01-2015, 10:04 PM)FlawlessHappiness Wrote: Looking away from your script, and just at what you said I'd presume what you want is

void Info(string &in asEntity)
{
SetMessage("Message","CarScript", 0);
}

Then put this in void OnStart()

SetEntityPlayerInteractCallback(NameOfEntity, "Info", false);

You don't need the setentityplayerinteractcallback, this is possible in the entity tab itself, for the entities. right?

It's arguably better to not use those. It's easier to look over your code when it is bound within the scope of just the hps file. I for one find it ridiculously tedious going back and forth between my Level Editor and Notepad++, but it could of course just be a matter of preference.

Discord: Romulator#0001
[Image: 3f6f01a904.png]
07-02-2015, 02:39 AM
Find
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
#7
RE: Script Error

(07-02-2015, 02:39 AM)Romulator Wrote: It's arguably better to not use those. It's easier to look over your code when it is bound within the scope of just the hps file. I for one find it ridiculously tedious going back and forth between my Level Editor and Notepad++, but it could of course just be a matter of preference.

To me, it just depends on how sure I am with what I'm making.
If I know exactly what I'm doing, then I don't mind using the level editor ones.

Trying is the first step to success.
07-02-2015, 11:45 AM
Find
Radical Batz Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 953
Threads: 145
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 25
#8
RE: Script Error

Make sure that the lange file has the same entry as the SetMessage code.

07-02-2015, 12:11 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)