Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help
MindScope Offline

Threads: 1
Help

I was told to post my problem on this forum. So, I'm making a custom story (i'm a little new to this), and I'm trying to set up a key with a door. I have the key and door named and i have the correct coding for them to work together. I also have the latest version of amnesia, and notepad++. But whenever i save the script, and boot up the custom story, I can't use the key with the door. Please help
02-23-2017, 02:13 AM
Find
Romulator Offline
Not Tech Support ;-)

Threads: 63
RE: Help

When you say you can't use the key, does the game just say "No object to use this item on" or similar? Then that means you need to add an AddUseItemCallback() for your key in OnStart(). Recheck the names of your door, key, and your .hps script file so that it matches your map name.

You can also post your script here for us to look at.

Discord: Romulator#0001
[Image: 3f6f01a904.png]
02-23-2017, 07:04 AM
Find
MindScope Offline

It says "cannot use this item this way" or something like that. Here's the script:
[Image: fhwRuq9.png]
(This post was last modified: 02-24-2017, 12:54 AM by MindScope.)
02-24-2017, 12:54 AM
Find
XeOnTricks Offline

Threads: 12

(02-24-2017, 12:54 AM)MindScope Wrote: It says "cannot use this item this way" or something like that. Here's the script:
[Image: fhwRuq9.png]

try this. it may work

void OnStart()
{

AddUseItemCallback("", "Key", "Door/", "Unlock", true);

}

void Unlock(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
SetSwingDoorLocked(asEntity, false, true);

PlaySoundAtEntity("", "unlock_door.snt", asEntity, 0, false);

RemoveItem(asItem);
}

if it does not work someone else can correct the issue. Smile hopefully this helped you.
02-24-2017, 06:22 AM
Find
Romulator Offline
Not Tech Support ;-)

Threads: 63