Linus Ågren
Senior Member
Posts: 309
Threads: 58
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation:
5
|
AddPropImpulse not working [SOLVED]
Okay, so I have a problem with my door. I've made a script on another door for closing it but no matter how high I put the vals on the prop impulse on this door, nothing happens (Not even if I put the door slightly open)
My door looks like this:
http://i53.tinypic.com/2elr28y.jpg
And my script:
void CollideGruntChase(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
AddPropImpulse("GruntChaseDoor", 1.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f, "World"); //Have also tried 1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f - 0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f - 0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f and a few other combinations but the door just won't even move slightly.
GiveSanityDamage(7.0f, true);
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "react_scare.snt", "Player", 0, true);
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "door_prison_open.snt", "mansion_4", 0, true);
StartScreenShake(0.008, 0.5f, 0.1f,0.3f);
SetEntityActive("grunt_1", true);
ShowEnemyPlayerPosition("grunt_1");
}
So I simply want the door to get slammed open. All the other scripts in this code works except for the AddPropImpulse one. Any clues? (Btw, the door has the name "GruntChaseDoor" exactly as it's written.
Creator of The Dark Treasure.
(This post was last modified: 02-10-2011, 09:38 PM by Linus Ågren.)
|
|
02-10-2011, 04:02 PM |
|
Tottel
Senior Member
Posts: 307
Threads: 9
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation:
0
|
RE: AddPropImpulse not working
Put the values a lot higher. ^^
As in.. 10000
Also, you don't have to guess. Check in your level editor along what axis you need to apply the force to make it swing open.
(This post was last modified: 02-10-2011, 04:08 PM by Tottel.)
|
|
02-10-2011, 04:07 PM |
|
Linus Ågren
Senior Member
Posts: 309
Threads: 58
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation:
5
|
RE: AddPropImpulse not working
Still doesn't do anything O.o
In my first map, I had
AddPropImpulse("prison_4", 1.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f, "World");
And that threw my door open really good.
Edit: It works if the door is open a bit now, but it won't slam open if closed.
Creator of The Dark Treasure.
(This post was last modified: 02-10-2011, 04:23 PM by Linus Ågren.)
|
|
02-10-2011, 04:18 PM |
|
Tanshaydar
From Beyond
Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation:
67
|
RE: AddPropImpulse not working
1.0f? How do yo expect that to work? Just one direction, where door opens and closes, put something like 150.0f - 200.0f
|
|
02-10-2011, 04:38 PM |
|
Linus Ågren
Senior Member
Posts: 309
Threads: 58
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation:
5
|
RE: AddPropImpulse not working
It STILL doesn't work. The door remains closed. Is there any syntax to open the door?
Creator of The Dark Treasure.
|
|
02-10-2011, 09:27 PM |
|
Tanshaydar
From Beyond
Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation:
67
|
RE: AddPropImpulse not working
From my script:
SetSwingDoorLocked("prison_6", false, true);
SetSwingDoorClosed("prison_6", false, true);
SetSwingDoorDisableAutoClose("prison_6", true);
AddPropImpulse("prison_6", 0.0f, 0.0f, 150.0f, "World");
|
|
02-10-2011, 09:32 PM |
|
Linus Ågren
Senior Member
Posts: 309
Threads: 58
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation:
5
|
RE: AddPropImpulse not working
YES! TYVM! That door has been bugging me so much!
Creator of The Dark Treasure.
|
|
02-10-2011, 09:37 PM |
|
Tanshaydar
From Beyond
Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation:
67
|
RE: AddPropImpulse not working [SOLVED]
I know, I worked on the damn door for hours till I saw a tip on forums.
|
|
02-10-2011, 11:38 PM |
|
|