Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Making monster go away
Dominic0904 Offline

Threads: 14
Making monster go away

Hey I got a question, I've got it so a monster appears after I walk into a script area. He chases me and smashes down the door, I hid in the closet. But he just stands there, he does not look around the room and such. How can I script it so after like 10 seconds or so the monster will go away and disappear or become non-active again, is it something to do with Path nodes? (Which i got no idea about).
Sorry I am still very new to this scripting business.
05-03-2011, 12:46 PM
Find
Roenlond Offline

Threads: 3
RE: Making monster go away

You can use pathnodes to move the monster around and another pathnode which will lead the monster through a script area. When they collide, call a FadeEnemyToSmoke function. I'll give you an example script in an hour or so if you can't figure it out =)
05-03-2011, 01:57 PM
Find
Dominic0904 Offline

I example script would help a lot, I would learn a lot quicker that way Smile But I can give it a try as well. Just the example would help Smile
05-03-2011, 02:01 PM
Find
Roenlond Offline

Threads: 3

Right, here we go:

////////////////////////////////
//Run when starting the map
void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "MonsterActive_Area", "MonsterActive", true, 1); //When the player collides with "MonterActive_Area", run function "MonsterActive". True means delete on use (i.e will only be called once. If you want to go through the monster part again even if you die, switch the false to true and it will call the function every time you enter it.) and the 1 means that it should run the function when you first enter the script area. (-1 is on leave, 0 is both iirc)