Map change problems - Printable Version +- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum) +-- Forum: SOMA (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-55.html) +--- Forum: User created content (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-79.html) +---- Forum: Technical Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-80.html) +---- Thread: Map change problems (/thread-42004.html) |
Map change problems - Venom Fox - 03-10-2016 Soo, I basically have two maps. 01_home99.hpm and 02_hospital.hpm In the first map, there's a level door (exit_apartment) that leads to the second map. And I have a PlayerStartArea in the second map. But when I use the door in the first map, I manage to get into the second map BUT everything is black. I can run around, though. If I then press F5 (I'm in the dev mode) I spawn in the correct place. Anyone else having this problem? How do I fix this? :O I'm desperate!!! RE: Map change problems - Abion47 - 03-10-2016 Do you have any light sources in the second map? RE: Map change problems - Guest - 03-11-2016 (03-10-2016, 11:05 PM)Abion47 Wrote: Do you have any light sources in the second map? I do, lot of light sources actually RE: Map change problems - Romulator - 03-11-2016 Check your second map for a map.cache file and delete that, then go to that level through normal play. RE: Map change problems - Venom Fox - 03-11-2016 (03-11-2016, 08:52 AM)Romulator Wrote: Check your second map for a map.cache file and delete that, then go to that level through normal play. Did that, still doesn't work :C Have you had this problem? Also, could this have anything to do with the fact that I've put my maps like this : maps/mapname/mapname.hpm instead of just smashing all the files in the maps folder? (yeah I've put it like this in the level editor under the mapfile box, 02_hospital/02_hospital.hpm) Edit : Also, if I add a leveldoor to the second map and make it lead to the first map, the same problem occurs. RE: Map change problems - Romulator - 03-12-2016 In terms of the Level Editor, what happens when you do remove the folder prefix? Try that, then after, try what I mentioned below :3 ------ Well, in SOMA personally, I haven't done a map change before. SOMA tries to ease the load of coming maps by preloading them. Have you specified an area say, approximately a minute before the map change where you call the Map_Preload() code block? If not, try creating a trigger area around that position, and when the player collides with it, call the Map_Preload() code. PHP Code: void Map_Preload(const tString &in asMapName, eWorldStreamPriority aPrio=eWorldStreamPriority_Normal); Contextually, you would use this: PHP Code: void Map_Preload("02_hospital.hpm"); And there's no problems with your folder structure. SOMA is pretty clever with locating maps, and in general, is a lot more organised than having one folder with every map. Frictional Games followed the same approach with their maps in the base game. RE: Map change problems - Venom Fox - 03-12-2016 (03-12-2016, 02:12 AM)Romulator Wrote: In terms of the Level Editor, what happens when you do remove the folder prefix? Try that, then after, try what I mentioned below :3 Those were some really cool tips, thanks! .. But I'm afraid they didn't work :S HOWEVER, I put a triggerarea in front of the leveldoor and used PlayerInteractCallBack to change the level, which suprisingly worked! (Still looks a bit clumsy, though, but better than nothing!) But thanks anyways, now I can continue working on my mod until a next major problem shows up! |