Ravenskull
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Threads: 5
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation:
0
|
overlay screen with .tga-file
Hey,
another question came up when thinking about my mod concerning screen effects. At a specific point in Penumbra you had to use a gasmask to cross an area. I want to use the same quest in my mod (Amnesia). Is there an option to overlay the screen with an custom .tga file? For example if you use the following script:
GivePlayerDamage(30.0f, "damage_bloodsplat1.tga", false, false);
... the bloodsplat tga-file will appear.
If I try to use my own file, by simply replaceing my own file it will not work.
example:
GivePlayerDamage(30.0f, "gasmask.tga", false, false);
It also doesn`t work if I replace the original file by my own custom file.
Is there an option to make the programm recognize my file?
I´m also searching for an script to overlay the screen with an .tga-file permanent.
If theres a way to realize my idea it would be a nice snack for all players.
Thanks for your support,
Ravenskull
p.s. Demo is coming soon !
(This post was last modified: 01-13-2013, 04:24 PM by Ravenskull.)
|
|
01-13-2013, 04:19 PM |
|
Traggey
is mildly amused
Posts: 3,257
Threads: 74
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation:
185
|
RE: overlay screen with .tga-file
Moving to development support.
|
|
01-13-2013, 04:42 PM |
|
Ravenskull
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Threads: 5
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: overlay screen with .tga-file
(01-13-2013, 04:42 PM)Traggey Wrote: Moving to development support.
thanks !
|
|
01-13-2013, 06:47 PM |
|
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Posting Freak
Posts: 935
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation:
54
|
RE: overlay screen with .tga-file
Never tried this, so maybe it's a really stupid idea, but could it instead be possible to just stick a billboard or a plane with the gasmask texture on it to the player? So that it would always be in front of the camera?
|
|
01-14-2013, 12:24 AM |
|
Acies
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,643
Threads: 60
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation:
73
|
RE: overlay screen with .tga-file
Palistov did this for me a while ago.. That man holds many secrets..
ジ
|
|
01-14-2013, 12:46 AM |
|
Ravenskull
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Threads: 5
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation:
0
|
RE: overlay screen with .tga-file
(01-14-2013, 12:24 AM)Hirnwirbel Wrote: Never tried this, so maybe it's a really stupid idea, but could it instead be possible to just stick a billboard or a plane with the gasmask texture on it to the player? So that it would always be in front of the camera?
I don´t think this will work, because you have to refresh the texture with every step you walk. Anyway it´s not even possible to add own texures to Amnesia (at least I haven´t found a way).
I sent a pm to Palistov, hope he will reply...
(This post was last modified: 01-14-2013, 07:45 PM by Ravenskull.)
|
|
01-14-2013, 07:44 PM |
|
palistov
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,208
Threads: 67
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation:
57
|
RE: overlay screen with .tga-file
The GivePlayerDamage function uses a damage type as a string, not a file.
You would do GivePlayerDamage(..., "BloodSplat", ...); or something like that. There are a few damage types; I'm not sure what they all are.
Using that function might accomplish what you want, but you'll need a full conversion. I haven't worked with Amnesia in a while, but look into full conversion tutorials. I think Your Computer wrote a good tutorial on it a while back. You'll need to list your own directory for graphics/ or something like that. Be careful though, full conversions are curious beasts.
And if you want to do what Hirnwirbel suggested, it's definitely possible. That's how I created the pseudo-HUD. But you also need a full conversion for that, and it means that the entire game will have that goggles effect, not just a specific time, as using the damage screen effect would let you do.
(This post was last modified: 01-14-2013, 07:54 PM by palistov.)
|
|
01-14-2013, 07:52 PM |
|
The chaser
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation:
113
|
RE: overlay screen with .tga-file
(01-14-2013, 07:44 PM)Ravenskull Wrote: (01-14-2013, 12:24 AM)Hirnwirbel Wrote: Never tried this, so maybe it's a really stupid idea, but could it instead be possible to just stick a billboard or a plane with the gasmask texture on it to the player? So that it would always be in front of the camera?
I don´t think this will work, because you have to refresh the texture with every step you walk. Anyway it´s not even possible to add own texures to Amnesia (at least I haven´t found a way).
I sent a pm to Palistov, hope he will reply...
I think Palistov doesn't reveal his secrets. Although you may try:
I've never tried it, but make a completely empty entity: Then, make a shape and then a body: Then, attach a billboard to the body.
Then, with script, Attach the model to the player.
THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
Aculy iz dolan.
|
|
01-14-2013, 07:56 PM |
|
Your Computer
SCAN ME!
Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation:
235
|
RE: overlay screen with .tga-file
If i remember correctly, trying to redirect the game to different damage images won't work since the damage types and images are hard-coded.
|
|
01-14-2013, 08:01 PM |
|
palistov
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,208
Threads: 67
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation:
57
|
RE: overlay screen with .tga-file
Images hard-coded? That's bizarre. The damage types probably are, but I wouldn't think the images would be. They've got to be stored in the files somewhere. I'm at my PC now, I'll take a look
Edit: Yea I looked, they're under graphics/hud. Don't think I've ever tried changing them in a full conversion though.
(This post was last modified: 01-14-2013, 08:35 PM by palistov.)
|
|
01-14-2013, 08:33 PM |
|
|