Amnesiaplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Threads: 105
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation:
0
|
Drill, Exposy, Particles :(
Hello All!!!
I'm making a (big) custom story...
and i want EVERYTHING perfectly... so... Detailed everything...
so i want this..
2 exposy barrels... put a drill inside and then 2 Particles (activated)
and you can put your bucket n ground (there is splash particle) so you can get the exposy...
don't think that i don't know everything xD
i learned most parts of scripting... but got some questions...
do i need a script to make a Particle de-activated ?! because if i erase the Checkbox in Active it is de-activated in level editor.. but in-game it is still there :S so how can i do this ? i found something about this...
DestroyParticleSystem("ps3_"+GetLocalVarString("WhatEpoxyEffect"));
? is this possible... *for the beginning of the map*
and this after i put the drill inside
CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("ps4_"+GetLocalVarString("WhatEpoxyEffect"), "ps_liquid_epoxy_drip.ps", asTimer+"_area_1", true);
PlaySoundAtEntity("s4_"+GetLocalVarString("WhatEpoxyEffect"), "12_epoxy_drip", asTimer+"_area_1", 1, true);
i already put the PArticles self... but i really don't know :S can someone help me
( and i will ask sometimes other questions in this thread about the 2 barrels and drill and other things )
EDIT: and how can i use the Drill Animation?
(This post was last modified: 09-29-2014, 07:35 PM by Amnesiaplayer.)
|
|
09-29-2014, 07:34 PM |
|
FlawlessHappiness
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
171
|
RE: Drill, Exposy, Particles :(
Particle systems in a script:
Use this website:
https://wiki.frictionalgames.com/doku.ph..._functions
Use Ctrl+F or Cmd+F to search for whatever you want. I searched for ParticleSystem and found exactly what i needed.
CreateParticleSystemAtEntity(string& asPSName, string& asPSFile, string& asEntity, bool abSavePS);
DestroyParticleSystem(string& asName);
For the drill, search on this forum. I searched "Drill" and found this:
https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/se...order=desc
Trying is the first step to success.
|
|
09-30-2014, 01:57 PM |
|
Amnesiaplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Threads: 105
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Drill, Exposy, Particles :(
Thans... i should use everything since i didn't know the Ctrl-f button to find something in the Engien script things...
But can i de-activate a particle system?! and activate them?? because i placed my 2 particles somewhere... and it is a little biy Difficult to CREATE a particle with script.. (the way , just more detailed)
|
|
09-30-2014, 02:22 PM |
|
FlawlessHappiness
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
171
|
RE: Drill, Exposy, Particles :(
No.
You can create on at an area. And then destroy it.
Then create a new one. Then destroy it.
Trying is the first step to success.
|
|
09-30-2014, 02:30 PM |
|
Amnesiaplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Threads: 105
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Drill, Exposy, Particles :(
Okey. Now it's really difficult ;(
how can i rotate the particle system on Good thing and i want the SPLASH particle to... for the ground... do i need to place an area on the place where i want/??
|
|
09-30-2014, 02:37 PM |
|
Mudbill
Muderator
Posts: 3,881
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation:
179
|
RE: Drill, Exposy, Particles :(
Place a script area where you want the particle to appear. It will spawn in the center of it. Rotate the area as you want.
In the script you simply call the Create script when you want it to appear. When you want it to disappear, call the Destroy script.
You can look at particles in the Particle Editor. Once you have found the one you want to use, make note of the file name, then input it in the Create line.
CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("particle", "ps_file.ps", "AreaName", false);
This is an example. It creates the ps_file.ps particle at AreaName and calls it particle. The last parameters is just whether to save its state. Once you want this particle gone, do:
DestroyParticleSystem("particle");
This time you only need the name you put before.
(This post was last modified: 09-30-2014, 02:46 PM by Mudbill.)
|
|
09-30-2014, 02:45 PM |
|
Amnesiaplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Threads: 105
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Drill, Exposy, Particles :(
Thanks but i have the script already
CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("acid_stream", "ps_liquid_epoxy.ps", "Particle", false);
it worked but the problem is... i can't change the color of the particle...
|
|
09-30-2014, 02:50 PM |
|
Neelke
Senior Member
Posts: 668
Threads: 82
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation:
26
|
RE: Drill, Exposy, Particles :(
Then you have to make a custom particle.
Derp.
|
|
09-30-2014, 03:44 PM |
|
Amnesiaplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 539
Threads: 105
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Drill, Exposy, Particles :(
Ow.. Nevermind then :S
but i have another problem...
void TimerRotateDrill(string &in asTimer)
{
RotatePropToSpeed("DrillInside", 4, 2, 3, 0, 0, false, "drill_lookat");
StopPlayerLookAt();
AddTimer("TimerPatricleDrill", 3, "TimerPatricleDrill");
}
void TimerPatricleDrill(string &in asTimer)
{
CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("acid_stream", "ps_liquid_epoxy.ps", "Particle", false);
CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("acid_stream", "ps_liquid_epoxy_splatt.ps", "Particle2", false);
StopPropMovement("hand_drill_static_1");
SetEntityActive("hand_drill_static_1", false);
SetEntityActive("container_lookat", true);
}
I want that the CreatP :
CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("acid_stream", "ps_liquid_epoxy_splatt.ps", "Particle2", false);
will hapen AFTER a sec (sev after the CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("acid_stream", "ps_liquid_epoxy_splatt.ps", "Particle1", false); Happened)
And there are 3 seconds... (the drill rotates)after 3 sec the particles load... both i want that the second one load after 1 sec ...
or should i do this?! the drill is rotating a sec of 5 and then it STOPS (and it's a Pick-able Item) then you pick up the drill and the water things come... So yes.. can someone help me with this :S
|
|
09-30-2014, 03:50 PM |
|
FlawlessHappiness
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,980
Threads: 145
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
171
|
RE: Drill, Exposy, Particles :(
(09-30-2014, 03:44 PM)Neelke Wrote: Then you have to make a custom particle.
You don't have to. Just use:
CreateParticleSystemAtEntityExt(string& asPSName, string& asPSFile, string& asEntity, bool abSavePS, float afR, float afG, float afB, float afA, bool abFadeAtDistance, float afFadeMinEnd, float afFadeMinStart, float afFadeMaxStart, float afFadeMaxEnd);
Trying is the first step to success.
|
|
09-30-2014, 06:40 PM |
|
|