Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Technical Engine question...
Wavesonics Offline

Threads: 3
Technical Engine question...

So I am a hobbyist engine programmer and am always interested in things like this that don't come out of the big production houses.

So I was wondering what type of technologies you guys used to solve the common problems.

For hidden surface removal what do you use? Oct Trees? BSP Trees and Potentially Visible Sets? Do you pre-calculate visibility? Do you do fulstrum culling?

Is the engine portal based? What are you using to cross-platform things like window creation, are you using SDL?
Is the engine based around a single thread?
Is the engine built around a client server model or strictly a single process?

It's a GREAT engine guys! I'd love to hear a little bit about what it's doing under the hood if you wouldn't mind sharing!
06-20-2007, 05:15 AM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Threads: 184
RE: Technical Engine question...

Engine uses Frustum culling + Portals.

It is uses SDL for setting up graphics mode and Input.

Threading is used for sound but nothing else.

client server model vs strictly a single process: Not sure really, but I would have to say single process.
06-20-2007, 07:30 AM
Find
sybesis Offline

Threads: 5

Thomas Wrote:client server model vs strictly a single process: Not sure really, but I would have to say single process.

As there is no other binaries when you install it. Penumbra.bin is the only binary for the game but there is still some libs but they are for input/ouput/shaders...

It could have used thread for simulating a server side of the game (i believe it should be possible to do something like that) but you said no threading except sound.

By the way, I still have a little question... Are the collada files standard?