Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Blog: Thoughs on Amnesia: The Dark Descent
nemesis567 Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 65
Blog: Thoughs on Amnesia: The Dark Descent

Well, first of all, this is only a thread, but I think you can understand the title. The thing is that our dear Frictional Games Team loves to criticize games that they randomly play. Well, I've played Amnesia, so why not give it my thoughs?

First of all, some things must be noted: I am not a game developer, such as FG is, so don't expect a flawless article.

Getting to the point, why have I chosen Amnesia?

Well amnesia has a lot to improve and I've now been a member of this community for a while. Now, I'll start by mentioning the greatest problems in amnesia(imo):

Repetition:

One of the biggest factors of boringness. It repeats the puzzles over and over again. Find the key, open the door. Now pull the lever. Water, watch out, there might be a lurker. Battle sound, MONSTER alert. Pick item, monster comes(NOTED: only works on main items except for the first landanum found). The list goes on and on. And NO, the engine's capabilities are not an excuse for this kind of repetition, as there are different scenarios which could've had different specific puzzles in each and every one of them(besides the main puzzle for each scenario which tends to be different).

Puzzles Creativity: