Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Development / Technology Questions
Frederick Offline

Threads: 1
Development / Technology Questions

Hi,

first of all let me say, that I tried Penumbra Overture and I am really impressed by the technology you created and your artistic talent.

I looked at your game mainly because I am a german cs student, who is interested in indie development.

If you don´t mind, I would like to ask you about a few question, how you achieved such a highly impressive game.

1.) I noticed you used collada, I am also looking at this format at the moment. It would be great if it would work, but I am not fully convinced it does at the moment. What content creation tool did you use to create the collada files ? I have a few skills in Blender, and I try to get into XSI at the moment. Blender could not import your files, and it seemed that XSI did not load materials and animations properbly. NVidias FX Composer had also problems with materials. So maybe it would be easier to stick with a custom converter. I am really excited to hear about how collada did work for you.

2.) Did you have any problems with cg ? I would like to use it also, because it is supported by XSI out of the box. People are complaining that there are problems with ATI cards.

3.) How big was your development team, and how long did it take ?

4.) Did you use any scripting language ? This is what I am really interested in the moment, because scripting allows for easier story telling and level creation. This is one of the reasons I consider to move away from C++ to Java, which behaves more like a scripting language.

Thanks for that great game - I´ll probably buy ... although I did not manage to open the stucked door in the underground basement... hmmm I ´ll try again tonight =)

Frederick
10-07-2007, 04:27 PM
Find
Yuhaney Offline
Hello Friends!

Threads: 100
RE: Development / Technology Questions