Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Script Help Lever opening bookshelf?
Biscuitbarrel Offline

Threads: 1
Lever opening bookshelf?

Hey, I'm working on my first custom story mod. It's more of a practice thing for myself, because I'm just learning scripting for HPL2 and want to understand all the mechanics I can before going into my big project idea.

I've got a hunk of code to fix. I'm trying to make a lever move a bookshelf.

void OnStart()
{
    SetEntityConnectionStateChangeCallback("lever_1, "PullLever");
}

void PullLever(string &in asEntity, int alState)
{
    if (alState == 1)
    {
    AddBodyForce("secret_shelf_1", 0, 0, -3, "world");
    }
}

Can someone tell me exactly what's up? Should I be using AddBodyForce, AddBodyImpulse, AddPropForce, or AddPropImpulse? And what's the difference? Remember, I'm brand-spanking-new to this. Mostly. I have also made a readable note and an unlock-able door.
(This post was last modified: 04-27-2012, 11:41 PM by Biscuitbarrel.)
04-27-2012, 11:40 PM
Find
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 26
RE: Lever opening bookshelf?

I would suggest looking at 01_old_archives in the original Amnesia maps. They have a secret bookshelf there and that code is short and simple Smile

04-27-2012, 11:45 PM
Find
Biscuitbarrel Offline

(04-27-2012, 11:45 PM)SilentStriker Wrote: I would suggest looking at 01_old_archives in the original Amnesia maps. They have a secret bookshelf there and that code is short and simple Smile
:O
It never occurred to me all the original code is right there in the Amnesia folders! I thought it was magically compiled and stuffed into a secret suitcase or something.
This job is now about 600x easier, thank you
04-27-2012, 11:52 PM
Find
Cranky Old Man Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 20

Frictional Games used two general ways of moving the shelves in the game(s).