Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Level Editor Help How can i create a good atmosphere?
lolboy9797 Offline

Threads: 8
How can i create a good atmosphere?

can anyone teach me how? i'm new to making levels and all that stuff.
Undecided
06-04-2012, 02:36 PM
Find
Linus Ågren Offline

Threads: 58
RE: How can i create a good atmosphere?

Don't spam jumpscares, and make the tension build up really good untill you have one. Also don't use too many monsters.

You can refer to this thread for more info:
http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-14887.html

Creator of The Dark Treasure.
06-04-2012, 02:39 PM
Website Find
lolboy9797 Offline

Threads: 8

(06-04-2012, 02:39 PM)junkfood2121 Wrote: Don't spam jumpscares, and make the tension build up really good untill you have one. Also don't use too many monsters.

i was thinking lights etc. but thanks!
06-04-2012, 02:42 PM
Find
Theforgot3n1 Offline

Threads: 20

(06-04-2012, 02:42 PM)lolboy9797 Wrote:
(06-04-2012, 02:39 PM)junkfood2121 Wrote: Don't spam jumpscares, and make the tension build up really good untill you have one. Also don't use too many monsters.

i was thinking lights etc. but thanks!
The best tip I can give you, is to always check how they did in the original game, and then take inspiration from there.
You can learn alot by just seeing what they do.

Confusion: a Custom Story - Ch1 for play!
http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-15477.html
About 50% built.
Delayed for now though!
(This post was last modified: 06-04-2012, 02:44 PM by Theforgot3n1.)
06-04-2012, 02:44 PM
Website Find
Traggey Offline
is mildly amused

Threads: 74

Designing a level is all about making fun gameplay and a good atmosphere.

Alot that should go into designing your levels is firstly logic, why is this barrel here? Why is this dead man on the floor, will it make sense?