Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help to make custom item
technologist Offline

Threads: 2
Help to make custom item

Hello, newbie here. I have a model in dae format, made in 3ds max and a 60x60 picture in png. I would like a step by step guide how to make a custom item from them. I searched but didn't find what i wanted. For now I need it only to be able to glow then picked up and read about it in the inventory. The last step i already know if it is the same as notes and keys. Thanks.
(This post was last modified: 08-27-2012, 04:14 PM by technologist.)
08-27-2012, 04:13 PM
Find
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Threads: 72
RE: Help to make custom item

1) Create a shape around the item, then pick the shape after properly scaling and translating it, and on the right, pick "Create Body" in the shape tab. It will turn green and you can apply mass to it to give it physics rather than it be static. Apply the mass, depending on your model. Then go over a few tabs on the right to Attachment. Pick "Su" button to grab the mesh. Pick Attach, pick the model, and pick Done. Your model now has a body that holds the physics.

2) Go to Edit > User Defined Variables and make Type: Item, SubType: Puzzle.

3) at the bottom of the User Defined Variables window, you will see SubItemTypeName. That is the label of the item you put in your extra_english.lang to give it a name and description. Then in your .lang file, it would go like this, say the name in the entry box is "ITEMNAME":

<Entry Name="ItemName_ITEMNAME">Item Title here</Entry>
<Entry Name="ItemDesc_ITEMNAME">Item description goes here. What is displayed in the little box at the bottom.</Entry>