Frodos
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Threads: 7
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation:
0
|
SOLVED Creating a Light Switch
Hey guys,
I am working on a modern custom story, there's a room that is dark, in the middle of the room a light hangs from the ceiling. I've seen in other custom stories light switches that can turn on lights in the room. Could someone give me a tutorial on how to do this? I want the switch to turn on just the one light in the room.
I prefer with pictures, since I'm new at scripting and quite slow, but a tutorial without any pictures is fine.
Thanks
Veteran Writer
Need help with your CS plot? PM me!
Noob Scripter, need help PM me.
(This post was last modified: 09-10-2012, 05:58 AM by Frodos.)
|
|
09-10-2012, 05:01 AM |
|
Adny
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,766
Threads: 6
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
173
|
RE: Creating a Light Switch
How would you like the lights to be turned on, button, lever or wheel?
I rate it 3 memes.
|
|
09-10-2012, 05:03 AM |
|
Frodos
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Threads: 7
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Creating a Light Switch
Lever.
Veteran Writer
Need help with your CS plot? PM me!
Noob Scripter, need help PM me.
|
|
09-10-2012, 05:05 AM |
|
Tomato Cat
Senior Member
Posts: 287
Threads: 2
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation:
20
|
RE: Creating a Light Switch
Try something like this.
void OnStart()
{
SetEntityConnectionStateChangeCallback("whatever","whateverthefunc");
}
void whateverthefunc(string &in asEntity, int alState)
{
if(alState == 1)
{
SetLampLit("lampname", true, true);
}
if(alState == -1)
{
SetLampLit("lampname",false,true);
}
}
RAISE YOUR DONGERS ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
(This post was last modified: 09-10-2012, 05:30 AM by Tomato Cat.)
|
|
09-10-2012, 05:08 AM |
|
Frodos
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Threads: 7
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Creating a Light Switch
I tried and I'm getting a error when I try to launch the story.
FATAL ERROR: Could not load script file 'customs stories/csa/maps/csa/csa.hps'! main (5,1) : ERR : A function with the same name and parameters already exist.
This what I did after interpreting your suggestion.
In "whatever" I put in the name of the lever.
"In whateverthefunc" I put "jacobroomfunc"
Then in the editor, I put "jacobroomfunc" in the levers Callback Func
In "lampname" I put the name of the lamp.
Veteran Writer
Need help with your CS plot? PM me!
Noob Scripter, need help PM me.
|
|
09-10-2012, 05:38 AM |
|
Adny
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,766
Threads: 6
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
173
|
RE: Creating a Light Switch
You have two functions with the same name; please post your full script so we can help
I rate it 3 memes.
|
|
09-10-2012, 05:40 AM |
|
Frodos
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Threads: 7
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Creating a Light Switch
void OnStart()
{
}
void OnStart()
{
SetEntityConnectionStateChangeCallback("jacobwrbedswitch","jacobroomfunc");
}
void jacobroomfunc(string &in asEntity, int alState)
{
if(alState == 1)
{
SetLampLit("Jacob_WR_Lamp", true, true);
}
if(alState == -1)
{
SetLampLit("Jacob_WR_Lamp",false,true);
}
}
Veteran Writer
Need help with your CS plot? PM me!
Noob Scripter, need help PM me.
|
|
09-10-2012, 05:44 AM |
|
Tomato Cat
Senior Member
Posts: 287
Threads: 2
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation:
20
|
RE: Creating a Light Switch
Change the name to jacobroomfunc2 or something.
RAISE YOUR DONGERS ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
|
|
09-10-2012, 05:49 AM |
|
Adny
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,766
Threads: 6
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
173
|
RE: Creating a Light Switch
You had two OnStart's, here's a revision:
void OnStart()
{
SetEntityConnectionStateChangeCallback("jacobwrbedswitch","jacobroomfunc");
}
void jacobroomfunc(string &in asEntity, int alState)
{
if(alState == 1)
{
SetLampLit("Jacob_WR_Lamp", true, true);
}
if(alState == -1)
{
SetLampLit("Jacob_WR_Lamp",false,true);
}
}
Hope that helped.
I rate it 3 memes.
|
|
09-10-2012, 05:54 AM |
|
Tomato Cat
Senior Member
Posts: 287
Threads: 2
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation:
20
|
RE: Creating a Light Switch
Or that. xD
RAISE YOUR DONGERS ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
|
|
09-10-2012, 05:56 AM |
|
|