Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 3.67 Average
FULL RELEASE: Eternium - Prologue. [IFC]
CorinthianMerchant Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 84
RE: FULL RELEASE: Eternium - Prologue. [IFC]

NO ROBO DARLING DONT ADD ANY HINTS THAT WILL ONLY SATISFY TEH NEWBS!!!11!

Still hasn't gotten over the loss of wubwub...
02-22-2013, 08:53 PM
Find
ElectricRed Offline

Threads: 13

Alright, I finally got around to playing this. I'm not good at writing reviews, so bear with me.

When I started Eternium, the first thing I noticed was the excellent lighting. The billboards were used quite well, almost FG quality. The sound design was also excellent, there were neat ambient effects throughout the map that really added to the atmosphere.

As for the map design itself, I think it really needs more detail. Many rooms were very open and empty, and the house just didn't feel very realistic. The level design/layout also did not feel very cohesive; I didn't know where I was supposed to be going and just felt like I was wandering around aimlessly, finding things along the way.

I really liked how the player was able to examine objects, similar to Penumbra. This is a great idea and it makes the player feel more connected to the environment. Notes were well placed and there seems to be an interesting backstory. However, you gave me no reason to care about it. Upon first launching the game I had no idea who the main character was or why he was in that cellar. Later on I read the ModDB description, but in my opinion the player shouldn't have to do that to understand what's going on. When I reached the end, I was just confused.