Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Scripting Languages
nemesis567 Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 65
RE: Scripting Languages

(02-12-2013, 05:11 PM)nackidno Wrote: Buy a book, they are pretty cheap. And start reading up the absolute basics before you start coding games (even simple ones) because when you have the understanding, it's easier to absorb the information and knowledge the game design articles/books/tutorials provide. I made that mistake when I started coding a loooong time ago, I was too eager to make games that I forgot to learn how programming languages actually work, the biggest mistake of my life and I ended up drawing things for people instead (slight exaggeration).

I would say start with C++, because the information that you can found is immense. It's debatable but I always found it hard to find beginner info and books for other languages than C++ (python might be an exception).
If you want to start with C++ don't. Start with C and then move to object oriented programming like C++. It's not worth learning C++ if you haven't got advanced knowledge in a C like language because you'll never understand why people actually created C++ to it's full extent.

Today I dreamt the life I could live forever. You only know that when you feel it for you know not what you like until you've experienced it.
02-12-2013, 05:17 PM
Find
eliasfrost Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 34

(02-12-2013, 05:17 PM)nemesis567 Wrote: