Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Crash, help please
dennis0011 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 8 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago Crash, help please

I am at the mission where you got to pick up something with a grabber, then you got to turn a wheel and you got 2 minutes to escape from the room before it all blows up. Now when I run away, I click on the door (to exit the room, to be safe for the explosion).

Additional notes:
- I updated my graphics card driver
- Vista can't find an update for my sound drivers (but I still think they are fine since I don't have problems with any other games like crysis, call of duty 4, ..
- I deleted the settings.cfg file
- EFX and Use Hardware are turned off
Obviously none of these worked :\ !!

I added a picture with the error I got.
05-28-2008, 08:38 PM
Find
Cr4sh Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 2
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
#2
Solved: 8 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Crash, help please

Maybe U have corrupted or missing files...
Try to Reinstall game.

U N B I R T H - Czech Translation!

- http://unbirth.ic.cz -
05-28-2008, 08:53 PM
Website Find
eliasfrost Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,769
Threads: 34
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 39
#3
Solved: 8 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Crash, help please

You can post the HPL log. It will help locating the error.

It is found in My Documents\Penumbra\Black Plague\hpl.log

[Image: indiedb_88x31.png]
05-28-2008, 09:05 PM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#4
Solved: 8 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Crash, help please

make sure you are running 1.0.1 http://support.frictionalgames.com/entry/70/
05-28-2008, 09:20 PM
Website Find
Dukem Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 1
#5
Solved: 8 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Crash, help please

It's most likely a corrupt install, as Cr4sh said. I just had a similar problem to this, posted HERE. I simply re-installed the game, and the problem was gone. Smile

-Dukem

~Dukem
05-28-2008, 10:29 PM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#6
Solved: 8 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Crash, help please

Actually this sounds very much like a known bug that is fixed in the latest patch! So install that and it should work Smile Just as Jens said.
05-31-2008, 12:55 AM
Find
dennis0011 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
#7
Solved: 8 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Crash, help please

Thanks, applying the patch worked !!
finished it in one time now Smile) really loved it, keep up the good work !
05-31-2008, 09:33 PM
Find
Vladspire Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
#8
Solved: 8 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Crash, help please

My game crashes right when i start to load i i have a

Xp
1.99 GHz
512 ram
Geforce FX5200

it starts to load them just shuts down i have the updates but idk what else to do
08-13-2008, 09:19 PM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#9
Solved: 8 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Crash, help please

Vladspire:
Please post the contents of "My Documents\Penumbra\Black Plague\hpl.log"
08-14-2008, 07:19 AM
Find
bluqesh Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
#10
Solved: 8 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Crash, help please

I have the same problem as dennis0011, but I can't apply the patch, since I got the game from Direct2Drive. I tried resetting the settings, reinstalling, neither worked so far. I also found a Requiem patch 1.01 on Direct2Drive, applied that (I also have Requiem of course) assuming that the two games are using the same engine, so it would help Black Plague too. Well, it didn't.
I'm so desperate now, please someone help!
10-25-2008, 02:35 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)