Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Interview tips?
Froge Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 176
Interview tips?

I just got an interview for the intern position of quality assurance analyst at a mobile / web game dev company next Thursday.

I've never done a job interview before. From my research, it'll be 45 minutes long, split exactly between technical questions and personality assessment. There are seven other interviewees I'm competing with, and I'm not sure how qualified they are, but I'm a first year CS student so I can only assume the worst.

Interview tips?

[Image: p229xcq]
(This post was last modified: 02-01-2014, 08:39 PM by Froge.)
02-01-2014, 08:32 PM
Find
Yuhaney Offline
Hello Friends!

Threads: 100
RE: Interview tips?

Keep eye contact and be confident.

02-01-2014, 09:17 PM
Website Find
Traggey Offline
is mildly amused

Threads: 74

Personality is 70 % of it, they want people that will fit into the team and surroundings.
02-01-2014, 10:56 PM
Find
Daemian Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 42

Yep, and be positive. At all times.

I don't know about the eye contact, you could make the interviewer uncomfortable.

02-02-2014, 02:59 AM
Find
7heDubz Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 40

Don't be shy, Personality, Confidence, And do your best to be not anxious.

02-02-2014, 03:10 AM
Find
VaeVictis Offline

Threads: 10

Eye contact is a big one, but be careful not to stare (bring a note pad for notes so you can occasionally glance at it to break it up).
Bring some questions ready, it lets them know you're interested and have done research (i.e. What does it take to be successful at (company name?)'.
If you are asked about a weakness, put a positive spin on it (i.e. 'Sometimes it appears that I may be slow to make a decision, but I like to do things right the first time.').
Firm handshakes, but not 'HULK SMASH!' handshakes.