Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


[SOLVED] Unable To Initialize Display Game Will not Start
sdavies Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 6 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago [SOLVED] Unable To Initialize Display Game Will not Start

Neither Overture,Black Plague nor Requiem will start.

$ tail -4 .frictionalgames/Penumbra/Overture/hpl.log
Init low level graphics
Setting video mode: 800 x 600 - 32 bpp
ERROR: Could not set display mode setting a lower one!
FATAL ERROR: Unable to initialize display!

I have tried setting my resolution to 800x600 ...
Unfortunately I am not able to set the depth to 32bpp for my video card:
GeForce 8600M GT

I am running Fedora 11 64bit
I have attached my xorg.conf

Will these games work with 24bpp?
(This post was last modified: 07-19-2009, 08:38 PM by kccricket.)
07-19-2009, 01:47 AM
Find
Inigo Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
#2
Solved: 6 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago Problems with Fedora 11 x86_64

(07-19-2009, 01:47 AM)sdavies Wrote: Neither Overture,Black Plague nor Requiem will start.

$ tail -4 .frictionalgames/Penumbra/Overture/hpl.log
Init low level graphics
Setting video mode: 800 x 600 - 32 bpp
ERROR: Could not set display mode setting a lower one!
FATAL ERROR: Unable to initialize display!

I have tried setting my resolution to 800x600 ...
Unfortunately I am not able to set the depth to 32bpp for my video card:
GeForce 8600M GT

I am running Fedora 11 64bit
I have attached my xorg.conf

Will these games work with 24bpp?

Hello, I've bought the series today. And i have the same problem.

But first, let answer you...

My machine runs a Fedora 11 x86_64, with a nvidia 6150 graphics card, using last drivers from rpm-fusion, 185.18.14.

There is a line on my Xorg log stating
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
so I suppose this part is ok, F11 and our cards are able to use depth 24 (16M colors) and 32 bpp.

Perhaphs I'm wrong, but I think the problem must be in other place...


I'm installed some 32 bits compatibility libs and disabled SELinux. but it doesn't work either.

I get the same error as sdavies.
But what is very strange is that if i removed xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-libs.i586 0:185.18.14-2.fc11 (nvidia 32 bits libs) the error is

CG ERROR : "The compile returned an error."
-----------------------------------
core/programs/PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg(28) : error C5013: profile does not support "for" statements and "for" could not be unrolled.
-----------------------------------
CG: Error loading: 'core/programs/PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg'!
ERROR: Couldn't create program 'PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg'
Dynamic loops in motion blur fp not supported, loading static instead.
CG: 'PostEffect_Motion_staticloop_fp.cg' using profile: 'fp30'
CG: 'PostEffect_DoF_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_DoF_fp.cg' using profile: 'fp30'

I suppose it crashed because it tries t use MesaGL libs and it isn't enough.


I also tried the CG libs someone mentioned in the forum, instead of using Fedora ones.
Both result in the same error.


Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
Iñigo
07-19-2009, 02:36 AM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#3
Solved: 6 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Unable To Initialize Display Game Will not Start

Make sure you have all 32bit libs(not sure whicj) installed, that the screen depth is 24 or 32(which you have) and that the graphics driver is working properly, perhaps by running the demo of doom 3 or quake 3 and see if they work. Sorry can't do much Linux specific help.
07-19-2009, 09:46 AM
Website Find
Inigo Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
#4
Solved: 6 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Unable To Initialize Display Game Will not Start

(07-19-2009, 09:46 AM)jens Wrote: Make sure you have all 32bit libs(not sure whicj) installed, that the screen depth is 24 or 32(which you have) and that the graphics driver is working properly, perhaps by running the demo of doom 3 or quake 3 and see if they work. Sorry can't do much Linux specific help.

can anyone with a working Fedora 11 x86_64 environment paste here the 32-bits libs installed on his system, please?
$ rpm -qa|grep i586 | sort > libs32.txt

Thanks
07-19-2009, 09:56 AM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#5
Solved: 6 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Unable To Initialize Display Game Will not Start

Oh found this in another thread

rpm -qa xorg-x11-drv-nvidia\*

http://frictionalgames.com/forum/showthr...9#pid24869
07-19-2009, 10:20 AM
Website Find
Inigo Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
#6
Solved: 6 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Unable To Initialize Display Game Will not Start

Solved!!!

My problem was that X server was not using GLX driiver from nvidia package.

sdavies, make sure in your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file that path to nvidia libs appear before the generic one. Something like


Section "Files"
    ModulePath   "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
    ModulePath   "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/default/Type1"
EndSection


Thanks for your help,
Iñigo
07-19-2009, 12:52 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#7
Solved: 6 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Unable To Initialize Display Game Will not Start

glxinfo | grep direct

is your friend.. tells you if direct rendering is enabled.

also looking at the full output of glxinfo to see if the vendors of the openGL server and client are BOTH nvidia.

the 32bit nvidia libs are REQUIRED to run, now if you try upgrading your Cg libs you need to make sure to remove the Cg libs included in the install in the ./lib directory. (otherwise I use the included libs over the system libs)

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
07-19-2009, 07:12 PM
Website Find
sdavies Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
#8
Solved: 6 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago [SOLVED] RE: Unable To Initialize Display Game Will not Start

Solved it!!

Added the following lines to my xorg.conf:
ModulePath "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
ModulePath "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers"
ModulePath "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"

Then installed 32bit nvidia libs and alsa libs:

# yum install xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-libs.i586 alsa-plugins-pulseaudio.i586

Thanks for the help Iñigo!!
07-19-2009, 08:37 PM
Find
Inigo Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
#9
Solved: 6 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: [SOLVED] Unable To Initialize Display Game Will not Start

(07-19-2009, 08:37 PM)sdavies Wrote: Solved it!! [...] Thanks for the help Iñigo!!

We had the same issue.
I think in my case it was due to a bad upgrade from Fedora 10.
Well, sorry, but now I'm a bit hurry, I have to play ;-)

Iñigo
07-19-2009, 08:50 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)