Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Can't run Penumbra on Debian Squeeze (64-bit)
visage Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 6 Years, 11 Months ago Can't run Penumbra on Debian Squeeze (64-bit)

Apologies if this or something similar has been asked already, but I can't seem to get Penumbra to run at all on my Debian Squeeze (64-bit) machine.

I have all the relevant 32-bit libraries installed (an ldd penumbra.bin) shows them all just fine. Nothing missing there.

However, this is what I get in my hpl.log file after trying to run the game:

Check serial!
-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------

Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating resource managers
Misc Creation
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Init low level graphics
Setting video mode: 800 x 600 - 32 bpp
Init Glee...OK
Setting up OpenGL
  Max texture image units: 16
  Max texture coord units: 8
  Two sided stencil: 1
  Vertex Buffer Object: 1
  Anisotropic filtering: 0
  Multisampling: 1
  Vertex Program: 1
  Fragment Program: 1
  NV Register Combiners: 0
  NV Register Combiners Stages: 148734808
  ATI Fragment Shader: 1
Creating graphic systems
  Creating Renderer2D
  Renderer2D created
  Creating Renderer3D
   Load Renderer3D gpu programs:
    Extrude
CG: 'ShadowExtrude_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'ShadowExtrude_fp.cg' using profile: 'fp30'
    Diffuse Vertex
CG: 'Diffuse_Color_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
    Diffuse Fragment
CG: 'Diffuse_Color_fp.cg' using profile: 'fp30'
    Fog
CG: 'Fog_Solid_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'Fog_Solid_fp.cg' using profile: 'fp30'
   Creating fog textures: Solid Additive Alpha
CG: 'refract_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'refract_fp.cg' using profile: 'fp30'
CG: 'refract_special_fp.cg' using profile: 'fp30'
   init sky box
  Renderer3D created
Creating screen buffers size 800.000000 : 600.000000
Creating programs
CG: 'PostEffect_Blur_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_Blur_Rect_fp.cg' using profile: 'fp30'
CG: 'PostEffect_Blur_2D_fp.cg' using profile: 'fp30'
CG: 'PostEffect_Bloom_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_Bloom_fp.cg' using profile: 'fp30'
CG: 'PostEffect_Motion_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg' using profile: 'fp30'
CG ERROR : The compile returned an error.
-----------------------------------
core/programs/PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg(32) : error C5013: profile does not support "for" statements and "for" could not be unrolled.
-----------------------------------
CG: Error loading: 'core/programs/PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg'!
ERROR: Couldn't create program 'PostEffect_Motion_fp.cg'
Dynamic loops in motion blur fp not supported, loading static instead.
CG: 'PostEffect_Motion_staticloop_fp.cg' using profile: 'fp30'
CG: 'PostEffect_DoF_vp.cg' using profile: 'arbvp1'
CG: 'PostEffect_DoF_fp.cg' using profile: 'fp30'

Any hints as to how to get this to work? I saw some videos of this game and decided to buy it, but as of yet, I'm unable to run it. Sad

Thanks!
12-22-2009, 08:09 PM
Find
visage Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
#2
Solved: 6 Years, 11 Months ago RE: Can't run Penumbra on Debian Squeeze (64-bit)

Fixed, because I'm dumb. Smile I didn't have NVidia's 32-bit drivers installed. Installing those fixed the issue.
12-23-2009, 12:07 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)