Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

The "What are you listening now?" thread
Sarcophagus Offline

Threads: 8
RE: The "What are you listening now?" -thread

Learned it on bass (I am a beginner)

Species come and go, but the Earth stands forever fast.
03-24-2013, 08:42 AM
Website Find
Kman Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 25

(03-24-2013, 08:42 AM)Sarcophagus Wrote:

Deftones are fucking sweet, have you heard of Glassjaw?

Posting Freak
03-24-2013, 10:52 AM
Website Find
Sarcophagus Offline

(03-24-2013, 10:52 AM)Kman Wrote:
(03-24-2013, 08:42 AM)Sarcophagus Wrote:

Deftones are fucking sweet, have you heard of Glassjaw?

The vocalist kinda sounds like Zack (Rage against the machine)

03-24-2013, 10:57 AM
Website Find
Bridge Offline
Posting Freak

(03-24-2013, 06:41 AM)Chronofox Wrote: I listened to a number of Arrau's interpretations of the nocturnes. While he does excel at rubato, I find his cantabile to be worse than Rubinstein's. Take this playing, for example:

Arrau starts off the piece a bit too loud, and follows the rest of the nocturne with somewhat confusing variations in dynamics. The cantabile tone demands clarity but also needs consistent shifting from louds to softs, as a singer is never monotone. I felt that Arrau lacked Rubinstein's tenderness in playing this nocturne, as the beginning of this piece is supposed to sound flitting and ephemeral but is rather presented in too solid a manner. Now, this nocturne has a doppio movimento section at 1:47 which is supposed to be very light, but requires a sudden crescendo at 2:06 reminiscent of one with a high temper bursting into violence. Because the beginning is already quite loud, Arrau fails to deliver the necessary softness at the start of the doppio movimento to make this crescendo noticeable, where as Rubinstein is more successful.