Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

JKO's Guide to compiling Penumbra
JKO Offline

Threads: 2
JKO's Guide to compiling Penumbra

Hi and welcome ladies and gentleman to the
JKO's Guide to compiling Penumbra!

I've decided to take the time to sit down and write it, even if I'm a total stranger here right now, for multiple reasons. First, there is very few documentations out there, which makes it hard for newbies to learn the engine (which I believe have a great potential for a modding community). Second, most of what you need to get everything working has been said on the forums, but they are scarce, hard to find and some can be misleading or hard to understand. I apologize if I makes mistakes in this text as English is not my first language (I am French-Canadian). I must also point out that I am not an expert and that I have very limited knowledge of the engine right now, so if you know more than me and see something that could be fixed or done differently, please advise.

This guide aims to help new users from the ground up to get the game working under Windows, with Visual Studio 2010. I might do other guide for different IDE and different OS, if more people needs help for those (From what I can see right now, the problems mostly comes from Windows and VS10).
So, let's get started!

Getting Started

First, obviously, you need to have a version of Visual Studio installed. For this guide I will be using Visual Studio 2010, but it should be quite the same thing for the other versions as well.

Downloading Git

Now you need the main source files to get you started. The 3 main sources required are downloadable through Git, a kind of SVN service. Since we are on Windows, you will need msysgit. You can download it here (Select Git-1.7.0.2-preview20100309.exe)

Install it in his own directory, like you would install any software. Remember where it is installed, we will come back to it shortly.