Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Changing tastes
MrSteve Offline

Threads: 4
Changing tastes

Hey all,

I've been gaming now for about 25 years (31 now) and I've noticed that the older I've got, the more my tastes have changed from First person shooters to story based titles.

I used to be able to play the likes of Halo and love it, but now I find first persons boring after a while, and have lost most interest.

It's why I was so attracted to games like Amnesia and SOMA. They just have more substance.

Has anyone else noticed a change in their tastes, over the years? Do you think it's a thing with people getting older, the meaning of entertainment changes?

I'd love someone from Frictional to actually comment on this, as well. Would be interesting to hear their views.
01-21-2016, 05:46 PM
Find
Yuhaney Offline
Hello Friends!

Threads: 100
RE: Changing tastes

I am talking in general right now but, yes, I have noticed that the entertainment I enjoy changes based on age. I am now 25 and things I found best ever when I was 19-21 no longer give me anything or very little to mediocre satisfaction. I think I simply grew out of it and therefore it no longer gives me the same vibes it used to. It's like looking yourself but this time outside the fish bowl... Sure, some things may still stay that others may find either weird or "inappropriate" for my age but still I like it. Maybe I'm just fucked up or plain weird, who knows, but at least I am not taking life too seriously anymore.

(This post was last modified: 01-21-2016, 06:36 PM by Yuhaney.)
01-21-2016, 06:35 PM
Website Find
Froge Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 176