Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
FATAL ERROR: Can not init steam
Son.of.Emo Offline

Threads: 2
Solved: 7 Years, 9 Months, 4 Weeks ago FATAL ERROR: Can not init steam

Hey all, it's Son. I just bought Amnesia: The Dark Descent off Steam today on my girlfriend's Windows Asus. I'm VERY excited to play it - I've been wanting to play it for years. However, every time I try to open it I get the message "Fatal error - can not init steam". I have absolutely no idea what this means. I'm not very good with computers either. I've checked other threads and the only things that I understood how to do don't solve anything. Whenever I select "run settings launcher" on steam, it loads. But once I try to launch the game it just gives me the same error message. Someone PLEASE help. And try to explain it as simply as possible. I just spent $20, I don't want to have wasted it for nothing. Thanks.

p.s. I also just made a steam account so I'm new to that as well.

The things I attached are the ONLY files I can find for Amnesia on this computer.

Attached Files
.log   launcher.log (Size: 3.38 KB / Downloads: 171)
.cfg   main_settings.cfg (Size: 575 bytes / Downloads: 153)
(This post was last modified: 06-05-2016, 05:21 AM by Son.of.Emo.)
06-05-2016, 04:23 AM
Find
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Threads: 59
Solved: 7 Years, 9 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: FATAL ERROR: Can not init steam

Hmm, well that error usually appears if the Steam copy of the game is ran manually via its folder executable.

Either way this error has been popping up only recently and I believe it's an issue in one of the recent updates for Amnesia. You can try this temp fix for the time being:
https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/th...#pid352137