ThePaSch
Member
Posts: 108
Threads: 11
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation:
0
|
Patrol Node Help
Hi,
I set up a path for a grunt and also placed the correct script into the file.
The monster also walks that path just perfectly. The problem is: Instead of disappearing after the last pathnode, it just walks through the entire patrol again, even when it doesn't see me (because I'm hiding in a closet).
Here's the script:
void OnStart()
{
StopMusic(3.0f, 0);
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "door_level_cellar_close.snt", "level_celler_1", 0, false);
PlayMusic("01_amb_darkness.ogg", true, 80, 1, 0, false);
CompleteQuest("00Investigate","00Investigate");
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "activateScare", "ScareZoneEnable", true, 1);
AddEnemyPatrolNode("cellargrunt", "cellar_pn1", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("cellargrunt", "cellar_pn2", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("cellargrunt", "cellar_pn3", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("cellargrunt", "cellar_pn4", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("cellargrunt", "cellar_pn5", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("cellargrunt", "cellar_pn6", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("cellargrunt", "cellar_pn7", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("cellargrunt", "cellar_pn8", 0, "");
}
|
|
10-21-2010, 06:17 PM |
|
Zergalag
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Patrol Node Help
I had this problem once too, but the solution was to make it go farther then before. I think you can't be able to hear it either, for it to disappear.
|
|
10-21-2010, 06:28 PM |
|
Pandemoneus
Senior Member
Posts: 328
Threads: 2
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Patrol Node Help
If everything fails you can create a script area and add a collide callback with the grunt to make it disappear.
|
|
10-21-2010, 06:45 PM |
|
ThePaSch
Member
Posts: 108
Threads: 11
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Patrol Node Help
(10-21-2010, 06:28 PM)Zergalag Wrote: I had this problem once too, but the solution was to make it go farther then before. I think you can't be able to hear it either, for it to disappear.
Thanks, that worked.
Also thanks to you, Pandemoneus.
|
|
10-21-2010, 07:16 PM |
|
Zergalag
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Patrol Node Help
Glad to be of service.
|
|
10-21-2010, 07:20 PM |
|
Cellrage
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Patrol Node Help
One thing you should know about patrol nodes is that they will auto-link if there is a clear path between them. This means that you aren't required to add every node you want your enemy to path to, only the ones where you want him to pause or finish patrolling.
In an example, you want the enemy to path from Point A to Point C. Instead of adding a script like this:
Quote:AddEnemyPatrolNode("Enemy", "Point_A", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("Enemy", "Point_B", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("Enemy", "Point_C", 0, "");
You could instead do this:
Quote:AddEnemyPatrolNode("Enemy", "Point_A", 0, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("Enemy", "Point_C", 0, "");
Assuming A, B and C ar linear, they will auto-link, and the enemy will path seamlessly from Point A to Point C without stopping at Point B.
|
|
10-26-2010, 02:28 AM |
|
house
Member
Posts: 195
Threads: 11
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation:
1
|
RE: Patrol Node Help
(10-21-2010, 06:17 PM)ThePaSch Wrote: The problem is: Instead of disappearing after the last pathnode, it just walks through the entire patrol again.
What? Thats odd. I made a fun level and when the grunt came to his last patrol node, he disappeared. I was acculty close to him too.
|
|
10-29-2010, 03:13 PM |
|
ThePaSch
Member
Posts: 108
Threads: 11
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation:
0
|
RE: Patrol Node Help
(10-26-2010, 02:28 AM)Cellrage Wrote: Assuming A, B and C ar linear, they will auto-link, and the enemy will path seamlessly from Point A to Point C without stopping at Point B. If they're linear, you could leave out point B entirely as well.
|
|
10-30-2010, 03:13 PM |
|
|