Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Failed to load menu config file.
Newf Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago Failed to load menu config file.

Strange, because the game worked before, and randomly 1 day I get this error message when trying to start it up. I've been looking around these forums for a while now and still haven't found a fix for it. I've also noticed with peoples HPL file things, it shows graphics card properties and what not, but for some reason, mine doesn't. I have a GeForce 9800 GTX+, and very other game on my system works perfectly fine. Also, I'm not running it through Steam. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.



-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------
Engine build ID 20100819012504

Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating generate module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating loader handlers
Creating resource managers
Adding loaders to handlers
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Sound Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Initializing OpenAL
Available OpenAL devices:
0. Generic Software on Speakers (C-Media CM112 Sound Device)(OpenAL default)
1. Generic Software on Digital Output (C-Media CM112 Sound Device)
2. Generic Software on Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
3. Generic Software on Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (High Definition Audio Device)
Trying to open device 'Generic Software on Speakers (C-Media CM112 Sound Device)'... Success!
Number of mono sources: 32
Streaming setup: 2 Buffers x 524288 bytes each
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Game Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Adding engine updates
Initializing script functions
--------------------------------------------------------

User Initialization
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Gui Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Deleting all sets
Deleting all skins
Deleting all gfx elements
Deleting all materials
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Generate Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Scene Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Input Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Sound Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Done with fonts
Done with scripts
Done with particles
Done with sounds
Done with meshes
Done with materials
Done with Gpu programs
Done with images
Destroyed all textures
Done with sound entities
Done with animations
Done with ent files
All resources deleted
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Physics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting System Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Deleting game setup provided by user
- Deleting lowlevel stuff.
Physics
Sound
Input
Resources
System
Graphics
Haptic
HPL Exit was successful!
02-24-2011, 07:48 PM
Find
Newf Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
#2
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Failed to load menu config file.

Nothing yet? Nobody knows what to do with this to fix it?
02-27-2011, 07:16 PM
Find
Luis Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 280
Threads: 19
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 9
#3
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Failed to load menu config file.

This is the launcher log. Check in your documents for a folder called Amnesia, and post the hpl.log file in the Main subfolder.

EOF
02-27-2011, 07:39 PM
Find
Newf Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
#4
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Failed to load menu config file.

The only things in there were the hpl thing which had -

|--Memory Manager Report-------------------------------|
|
| No memory leaks detected. Memory left: 0
|
|------------------------------------------------------|

Then another one called hpl_update, which is blank, then launcher, then main_settings.cfg. Thats all the files in the documents/amnesia/main Folder.
02-27-2011, 08:52 PM
Find
xiphirx Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 662
Threads: 16
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 5
#5
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Failed to load menu config file.

Sounds like a corrupt installation, did you reinstall?

02-28-2011, 03:27 AM
Find
Newf Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
#6
Solved: 6 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Failed to load menu config file.

Well thats where I find it weird because the game worked for me for a while, then all of a sudden one day I tried it and it just started doing that. And unfortunately the disc I had for it got broken so I have no way of re-installing it >.>
02-28-2011, 10:36 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)